Today’s Feature – December 13-14: Corey Crowder

December 15, 2008 at 1:39 am (Today's Feature)

coreyfeat
For those of you out there that are like me – in agreement that the sound of bands like Creedence Clearwater Revival and The Eagles never went out of style – you’re going to love Corey Crowder. He describes his sound as folk rock, but as you listen to this strummer play his acoustic driven tunes, you can feel that blend of great classic rock mixed with a touch of country. The combination produces the kind of melodies that countless fans of those bands mentioned above can appreciate

The new album, “Gold and The Sand” reflects this style, with a modern twist. Crowder says it’s an accurate reflection of his personal development as both a person and a musician and “a step in a much more folky direction… I feel like some will perceive it as a more country sound than my past material. I feel like the record represents me as a person better than anything I’ve done up to this point.” Crowder has accurately captured and produced something all his own, but once in a while you’ll notice some influence from the past on the record – and it feels so right.

While he may not have the reputation that CCR and the Eagles garnered in their day for a live show (not yet anyway), Crowder has learned more and more about how to perform for his fans. He says “I feel like I plan things out less than I did in the beginning and just like to let things happen spur of the moment.” Sounds good. He’ll be out promoting “Gold and The Sand,” so keep an eye out for a local show. Jump into the XXQ’s for a whole lot more.

XXQs: Corey Crowder

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us about your first live performance, ever. What was going through your head?

Corey Crowder (CC): It was at an open mic night in Milledgeville, GA. I was extremely nervous and probably butchered every song that I played.

PEV: Hailing from right outside Atlanta, Georgia, what kind of music where you listening to growing up? What was the first concert you attended?

CC: I grew up listening to bands like The Allman Brothers, Creedence Clearwater Revival, and The Eagles. My first concert was an Eagles concert when I was very young.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process… What kind of environment do you have to be in to make music?

CC: I need to be alone with no distractions. I am easily pulled off track. I typically knock songs out very quickly and hate spending too much time on one song because it tends to become forced.
PEV: Do you have any pre-show rituals you do or do you just hop on the stage?

CC: I like to have a glass of scotch before I play. I usually don’t like to sit around and think about the performance too much because it ruins the adrenaline of performing.

PEV: Going back to your first show ever, how have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

CC: I feel like my confidence has grown over the years, which has led to a much more put together performance. I feel like I plan things out less than I did in the beginning and just like to let things happen spur of the moment.

PEV: What can fans expect from your new album “Gold and The Sand”?

CC: You can expect a much more thought out record that I feel reflects the personal and musical growth I have experienced over the past few years.

PEV: How is “Gold and The Sand” different from other albums out right now? As well, now is it different from past work you’ve been a part of?

CC: Gold And The Sand is a step in a much more folky direction. I feel like some will perceive it as a more country sound than my past material. I feel like the record represents me as a person better than anything I’ve done up to this point.

PEV: How would you describe your sound? And what do you think it is about your style that has made you so successful?

CC: I usually classify my sound as folk rock. I think the fact that I write songs about real life experiences and topics makes the music very easy to relate to for everyone.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Corey Crowder?

CC: I am a huge fan of cartoons. My wife gives me a hard time about it because I am always watching Spongebob or something on TV.
PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

CC: I don’t think I’ve ever put the pressure on myself for music to be my career. I like to roll with the punches and take things as they come. As long as people keep buying my records, I’ll keep making them.

PEV: What one word best describes Corey Crowder?
CC: Laid-back (I cheated and used two words. But, hyphenated it just to make it fit.)

PEV: As musicians, you live a lot of your life on the road. How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts? Any fun stories?

CC: I have a love/hate relationship with touring. I love being in different places and playing for different people. However, I tend to get homesick very quickly when apart from my wife and dogs for too long. It also gets old living out of a bag and eventually it’s hard to distinguish which clothes are clean and which are dirty.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

CC: My favorite city to play is always my home town, Atlanta, GA. I end up knowing most of the people in the crowd and it is like a big reunion every time we are there.

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success? What’s it like when you get a chance to come home from being on the road?

CC: They are all very supportive and happy for me. Everyone is always giving me a hard time about my career, but it’s all in good fun.

PEV: What can we find you doing in your spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

CC: I love fishing and hiking. I have 2 dogs (beagles named Shiloh and Daisy) and I love spending time with them.

PEV: Having played with many great acts in music is there still one artist or group that would be your dream collaboration? Why?

CC: I would love to have the chance to collaborate with Norah Jones. I think her voice is one of the best of our time.

PEV: Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for now?

CC: I’m pretty sure he is more than up-and-coming but there is a guy that I started listening to while out in Seattle named Rocky Votolato. He is an amazing singer/songwriter that you should definitely check out.

PEV: If you weren’t playing music, what would you most likely be doing for a career?

CC: I’d love to work on a farm or a ranch somewhere. I think being outdoors all the time would be such a rewarding job.

PEV: Tell us what an average day is like for you – waking up to going to sleep?
CC: I would say there is no typical day for me. Some days are very busy and I may spend all day writing/recording or working on promotion for upcoming shows. Some days are spent folding and tagging shirts at a local apparel company in town. Some days are spent working the grill at the rec league baseball fields in town.

PEV: So, what is next for Corey Crowder?

CC: I’m just focused on getting the new record heard by as many people as possible. I will be spending time playing shows in the Southeast over the course of the next year trying to build my home base up. At some point I will finish writing for a new record and start it all over again.

For more information on Corey Crowder, check out: www.coreycrowder.net

Leave a Reply

