Today’s Feature – November 27-28: Zona Jones

November 27, 2008 at 10:59 am (Today's Feature)

zonafeature_copy

It’s kinda funny to me that the bio of country singer Zona Jones opens with the line, “While George Jones was the first to put Beaumont on the country music map…” Sure, George Jones has quite the history, but honestly, Zona Jones is blazing a path unique and captivating on its own – he doesn’t need to follow in anyone’s footsteps. Here’s the abbreviated version of the background:

“After working as a kid after school and during the summers on the ranch for his dad, Zona decided education was the ticket to getting a job somewhere there was air-conditioning. Zona received his undergraduate degree from Baylor University in Waco, Texas. He went on to earn a law degree which, in turn, landed him a job at a prestigious firm in Beaumont, Texas. It was there, much to his surprise, Zona found a booming musical community. After forming the band SwingWest, Zona began hitting the Texas club and dance hall circuit.”


Today, Zona is riding solo and has signed with Rocky Comfort Records to continue his already successful musical career… all the while still practicing friggin’ law! How impressive is that? Somehow he’s found time to release an album titled, “Harleys & Horses,” which has been all over the Texas Music Charts, including the a hit with plenty of radio play called “Two Hearts.” Jones talks about the collection, “Well, this record was really neat because it has a lot of flavor to it; it had a lot of texture to it and a wide variety of music that speaks to people from top to bottom.” Definitely check it out, and keep an eye out for the future album called “Prove Me Right.” You can already buy one single off it on iTunes; the attention grabbing “You Should’ve Seen Her This Morning.” There’s still much to learn, so get into the XXQ’s for a lot more.

XXQs: Zona Jones

PensEyeView.com (Richie): Hey Zona, where’d I catch you right now?

Zona Jones (ZJ): I’m actually on the road right now. We have a show outside Houston.

Richie: Speaking of being on the road how is life on the road for you?

ZJ: You know, it’s great! We enjoy playing music and that’s why I’m doing what I’m doing. To play and to be out on the road is great… it’s the stress of being away from home that isn’t always the best. It’s all worth it to be out on stage though (laughs).

Richie: Where is home for you?

ZJ: I live in Beaumont, Texas.

Richie: What kind of music were you listening to growing up?

ZJ: All man, everything. Everything from Journey, Elvis, Beatles, country of course. All kinds of music.

Richie: I have to ask you about your name… Zona is an interesting name.

ZJ: Well yeah, it’s pretty rare. But actually now that I’ve been out more, I’ve had some people say they know a Zona as well. But the “Reader’s Digest story”, goes like this, my dad was on the rodeo circuit and when my mom was pregnant with me, about to go into labor, he missed a big rodeo that was in Phoenix, Arizona. So since he couldn’t be there he and my mom decided to name me Zona, short for Arizona.

Richie: What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music?

ZJ: Well, let’s see… I just have to have no interference – no phone calls… where it’s quite and then a pencil and paper.

Richie: How has your performance changed since your first time on stage to where you are now?

ZJ:  My first all time performance was in Jasper, Texas. And I’d say from where I am now from them, there are a lot more people watching (laughs).

Richie:  Well, I’d say you come quite a long way since then (laughs).

ZJ:  We did it ok then but now we just do it a lot better (laughs).

Richie: Tell us what can people expect from your latest release, “Harleys & Horses”?

ZJ: Well, this record was really neat because it has a lot of flavor to it; it had a lot of texture to it and a wide variety of music that speaks to people from top to bottom. So when we have the new record that will be out next year, I think we have an even better record on our hands.

Richie: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about you?

ZJ: Well, most people are surprised that I’m a lawyer and I have my own practice.

Richie: That is pretty interesting! I didn’t know that. What was it like when you made the switch from lawyer to musician? I would think that a lawyer is a much steadier career path.

ZJ: Well, I still practice. It wasn’t a real transition for me. I started playing music years ago with my band. When I started my practice it became successful and being the boss I could allow myself to go and play some shows… I mean no one was going to tell me I couldn’t (laughs). But I am still very involved in the practice.

Richie: And when you’re not playing, practicing law or touring, what can we find you doing in your spare time?

ZJ: Hunting and fishing. It something I really enjoy doing and try to whenever I get a chance. It feels good to get out there and go hunting and fishing.

Richie: So, what’s next for Zona Jones?

ZJ:  Well, we’re going to keep on doing what we’ve been doing. We’ve been fortunate enough to play regularly now. And we are getting ready for the release of the new album.

Richie: Well thanks for taking the time out with me Zona and best of luck on tour.

ZJ: Thank you very much, I appreciate the time brother.

For more information on Zona, check out: www.ZonaJones.com

Leave a Reply

