Today’s Feature – November 15-16: Pointe Claire

November 16, 2008 at 6:20 pm (Today's Feature)

pointefeature

It’s comes up all of the time, but yet remains a topic we here at PEV rarely touch on – the greatness that is CraigsList. Seriously, I have friends that owe half of what they own to the web site. And like other past PEV alum, Pointe Claire, a group out of West Hollywood, came together on CraigsList when Jonathan Fessenden found vocalist Kate Zenna and DJ Paul Laski to “create a collection of electro-pop songs that have since been described as soothing, soulful and sultry.”

That collection has a name; it’s called “I Asked For You… First.” They call it “good, clean, honest and toe-tapping tales of the heart… certifiably organic electro-pop with zero sodium and absolutely no artificial coloring.” We call it progressive; a sound that accents all of the strengths that Pointe Claire commands – from irresistible beats to angelic vocals that will easily retain your attention. They’re not building on someone else’s idea – this is new music, plain and simple.

While the group did once try a traditional approach to their live show, they eventually had to give in to their undeniable style, again utilizing their strengths with “laptops, synth key guitar and of course vocals.” Expect big things from Pointe Claire in the future – they’re a new band just beginning. Pick up “I Asked For You… First” right now, check their schedule and learn a whole lot more in the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Pointe Claire

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us about how you first jumped into becoming Pointe Claire? Was it an instant connection for the band?

Jonathan: We met on Craigs list in L.A. I was looking for a vocalist to sing on a song and after that song we decided to do more, and BAM we become a band. I also found Paul on Craigs…

PEV: Calling West Hollywood home now, what kind of music where each of the members listening to growing up? Do you guys argue on different kinds of music? What was the first concert you attended?

Kate Zenna: I grew up on 80’s UK pop. We never argue. Depeche mode concert.

Jonathan: Haha well I share a lot of the same interests with Kate and Paul musically, but I probably listen to a lot of other different things. I grew up on rock , classical, and started to later love jazz, world and of course electronic music of the 80’s 90’s and current electro. My first concert was Chicago, my parents took me. I don’t remember much but it was loud.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process… What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music?

Kate: Write lyrics anywhere, often while driving in la. The songs arrive in the studio, preferably a studio with at least three cats strutting around.

Jonathan: I write the music whenever there is a certain feeling around me, could be a great movie that inspired it or a memory or someone stepped on my heart…Usually the last is most frequent.

PEV: Having performed together for quite some time, what can fans expect from a live show?

Kate: A meltdown if there’s a power surge. In that case, I will read poems.

Jonathan: We have changed our live show to laptops, synths keys guitar and of course vocals. We used to have more of a traditional band approach, but felt this change…

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance as a band. How have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

Kate: We are slimmer and more compact.

Jonathan: Hmmm I am having a hard time remembering the first show.

PEV: What can fans expect from your debut album, “I Asked For You… First”? What was the collaborative process for this album?

Really I think people will always relate to things Kate is saying lyrically. Also the music just sounds cool and different. I wrote most of the music at my apartment and Kate would come over and lay down a part that would just be great. Of course sometimes it was not easy and we would have to work on some songs a lot harder and longer than others…. Kate also came with songs she had done on guitar.

PEV: How is “I Asked For You… First” different from others out right now?

Jonathan: I’ll leave this one for Kate.

Kate: Good, clean, honest, and toe-tapping tales of the heart.

PEV: How would you describe the sound of Pointe Claire? How do you plan to stand out above the other musicians in your genre?

Kate: We are certifiably organic electro-pop with zero sodium an absolutely no artificial coloring.

Jonathan: I think we have great songwriting going on and I feel these songs will sound good in the years to come.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about the members of the band?

Kate: Kate doesn’t burp, Jonathon doesn’t argue with Kate, and Paul doesn’t believe peanuts aren’t good for you.

Jonathan: Kate never stresses out!

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

Kate: Is it our career?

Jonathan: I wanted it to be a career in High school, and I really worked and continue to make that happen constantly.

PEV: What one word best describes Pointe Claire?

Kate: Here.

Jonathan: Emotion.

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts? Any fun stories?

Kate: Let’s hope it’s in the air, on private jet.

Jonathan: We really have not traveled outside of L.A. at this point. We plan on doing that in 2009… Soooo, if your reading this request us to your town.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

Jonathan: I loved playing in Ohio, they are wild there.

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success?

Jonathan: My family usually sees success as how much money I am making so this band does not seem that important to them at the moment.

PEV: What can we find the members of the band doing in your spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

Jonathan: Cooking for my wife… Paul and I hang out a lot going to clubs in L.A. seeing bands, and or playing Rock Band.

PEV: Which artist would be your dream collaboration? Why?

Kate: Matt Johnson/Lloyd Cole/Morrissey/Depeche mode for me.

Jonathan: Well I would love to collaborate with Vernon Reid (guitarist), Brian Eno, and Vienna Philharmonic… Brian Eno I feel could take our band to another level. Vernon Reid was my guitar idol growing up, and I always thought a guitar/ orchestra duo would be great with him. My dream is to conduct an orchestra of music I have written, rather fond of Vienna.

PEV: Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for now?

Kate: Uh… Yeah…

Jonathan: Pointe Claire for sure

PEV: If you weren’t playing music, what would the members of the band most likely be doing for a career?

Kate: The wiser choice would be ski instructor or hoteliers perhaps.

Jonathan: I have tried to do other things but songs run through my head at night and it is hard to sleep. So music is it for now hmm maybe a career change might bring me sleep.

PEV: Ten years down the road, where will the band be?

Kate: I will be running a dog rescue foundation from home in Bali.

Jonathan: I have to live only in the moment.

PEV: So, what is next for Pointe Claire?

Jonathan: More music is coming and of course reaching more great fans. Paul our third partner has started to write with us on the new stuff.

For more information on Pointe Claire, check out www.myspace.com/pointeclaire

2 Comments

  1. musicfreakz said,

    nice info

  2. tania said,

    great article for an amazing band.
    love it

Leave a Reply

