Today’s Feature – November 11-12: Nate Stone

November 13, 2008 at 12:39 am (Today's Feature)

natesfeat

Nate Stone brings a fresh perspective to this business – having seen much of what it has to offer. While the guy certainly doesn’t look it, he’s been in the business for ten years – six of which were spent with his Atlantic Records band, Mercy Fall. You may have picked up their album from back in 2006, perhaps even caught a bit of their national tour. Stone was seeking fame and fortune, and he seemed well on his way with his major record deal… but when the business turned around on him, things weren’t so great.

That’s when Nate realized he wasn’t making the music for the money. He would no longer allow the success of his band to direct where his life was going. He says, “I feel that my desires in the past have been selfish and unimportant and I’ve learned that I am unwilling to let success or failure define me as a person and as an artist. I feel that the only way to become successful in life and in music is to become truly happy with myself. With that said, I am embarking on a new journey, in life and in music.”

And what better way to mark such an occasion than the debut album, “Love & Tragedy.” It’s a record based in song writing, built from the lyrics up and around an acoustic guitar. Working with Bob Hoag out in Arizona, his songs have been developed with the help of a full blown band, and are more than worth your attention.  It was recorded on 2-inch tape – no digital influence. So check out “Love & Tragedy” and keep an eye out for more music in the future. Dive into the XXQ’s for a whole lot more.

XXQs: Nate Stone

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us about how you first jumped into the music business? Was it an instant connection for you?

Nate Stone (NS): I was seventeen when I made the decision to pursue music. I am a really motivated and tenacious individual, which I think you need to be to enter the music business, which is a really ugly business and a pain in the butt most of the time. It’s definitely a love/hate relationship.

PEV: Hailing from Flagstaff, Arizona, what kind of music where you listening to growing up? What was the first concert you attended?

NS: I was raised in a strict Christian home so the only music I listened to growing up was gospel music. The first non-Christian music I was exposed to was Pearl Jam and the Counting Crows. I would sneak the music into my room and listen to it quietly so my parents wouldn’t know. Those were the first bands that really got me excited about music. My first concert was The Steve Miller Band.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process… What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music?

NS: There is no rhyme or reason to it for me. I just have to pay attention and if I start feeling inspired I hope my guitar is close by.

PEV: Having performed for quite some time, what can fans expect from a live Nate Stone show?

NS: Well, if I’m having a good night they can expect a really honest/inspired performance. I’m very moody and depending on the feeling in the room it can be an inspiring night or (I hate to say it) a train wreck. So bring the good vibes and I won’t let you down.

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance. How have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

NS: My first performance was at a car show when I was thirteen. I sang cover songs to a backing tape. It was hilarious! I sang “Route 66” and “Fire and Rain”. Now I play all original music and I don’t use backing tapes.

PEV: What can fans expect from your debut album “Love & Tragedy”? What was the collaborative process for this album?

NS: I was trying to make the album kind of an introduction to Nate Stone hoping people would get a sense of what I’m all about. I worked with my producer Bob Hoag in Arizona. I brought him the songs on an acoustic guitar and he pretty much took it from there, building the band around it. I had a definite vision for the album and he pretty much made it happen.

PEV: How is this album different from others out right now?

NS: We recorded the album on 2 inch tape instead of digitally and didn’t use pro tools at all. I don’t think that happens much anymore.

PEV: How would you describe the sound of Nate Stone? How do you plan to stand out above the other musicians in your genre?

NS: I would say my music is folk/pop. I really focus on my songwriting and I hope that makes me stand out.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about you?

NS: I work in a machine shop.

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

NS: Oh yeah, I was very young when I realized that I was a lifer. This is not an option for me. I will be making music until the day I die.

PEV: What one word best describes Nate Stone?

NS: Hopeful

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts?

NS: Touring is tiring, but I can’t complain. It’s worth it getting to play in front of new people. Best part: playing, Worst part: driving.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

NS: There are so many great cities to play, but I think I’d have to say Columbus, Ohio. I’ve never played outside the US.

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success?

NS: They’re proud and supportive.

PEV: What can we find you doing in your spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

NS: Going to school, skateboarding, and hanging with my dogs.

PEV: Which artist would be your dream collaboration? Why?

NS: James Taylor: He is one of my favorite singers and I would love to pick his brain about songwriting.

PEV:  Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for now?

NS: Another Flagstaff band called Telescope. I co-produced their record “For The Rest of Us”.

PEV: If you weren’t playing music, what would you most likely be doing for a career?

NS: I’d be a scientist.

PEV: Ten years down the road, where do you hope your career will take you?

NS: Hopefully I will just keep getting the word out. Being able to make music for a living would be unbelievable.

PEV: So, what is next for Nate Stone?

NS: Hopefully touring and continuing to work this record. Then make another record and do it all over again.

For more information on Nate Stone, check out: www.natestonemusic.com, also on myspace.com/natestonemusic and it is available on iTunes.

1 Comment

  1. » Today’s Feature - November 11-12: Nate Stone said,

    […] What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music? NS: There is no rhyme or reason to it for me. Original post […]

Leave a Reply

