Today’s Feature – November 5-6: Patrick Droney

November 10, 2008 at 1:58 am (Today's Feature)

patrickfeat

Holy crap. What were you dong at 16? Hell, what were you doing at age 7? Phenomenon Patrick Droney was doing what’s he’s still doing today – shredding up the guitar like only he can. And now at the ripe old age of 16, this young talent finds himself writing songs alongside guys like Benjamin Burnley of Breaking Benjamin and Brad Arnold of 3 Doors Down.

Droney’s accomplishments don’t end there:
1) He’s played The Montreal Jazz Festival, Antone’s, House of Blues, The Whiskey A-Go-Go, B.B. Kings Blues Club and at The Bamboozle Music Festival.
2) Patrick has been requested to provide guidance & instruction to aspiring artists alongside the likes of Steve Vai & Joe Satriani.
3) He is among the youngest endorsees of Paul Reed Smith (PRS) Guitars.
4) And on top of this, he was awarded the Robert Johnson Star Award Recipient for 2006 as the country’s most promising blues musician.

Sure, it’s easy to say, “The kid is 16. How great can he really sound?” Give his album, “The Other Side” a listen, and you tell me if this sounds like your typical teenager. I guarantee you’ll be blown away. His music is remarkable, and his songs are as solid as any in the business. How else do you think he came to hang out with Burnley and Arnold?

Patrick continues to impress, sharing a board seat with B.B. King on the Robert Johnson’s Foundation Heritage House, as well as acting as an ambassador to the World Federation of Hemophilia and serving on the board of Nestle Very Best in Youth Foundation. The guy makes me want get up and do something, anything! Anyway, there’s a lot more to learn below, so look into “The Other Side” and get into the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Patrick Droney

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us, how did you first jump into the music industry? Was music always an instant passion for you? Any hesitations?

Patrick Droney (PD): Music has always been an instant passion for me. As early as I can remember it was always in my life. From my father playing guitar to watching Elvis instead of Barney. I picked up the guitar at a really young age and it just became a part of me.

PEV: Turning heads on the guitar at the early age of 7, was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

PD: I think from the moment my father put the guitar in my hands I knew it would be a part of me forever. Once I started really playing it was a given that it would be a career for me.

PEV: Describe the feeling of holding and seeing your own album in your hands and in the hands of others?

PD: It is the best and most gratifying thing in the world. To put everything that is in you in something and spend so much time creating it, to hold it in your hands and seeing other people with it is amazing.

PEV: What kind of music were you listening to growing up? Do you remember your first concert you ever attended?

PD: I grew up with a lot of heavy guitar driven music. From Clapton to Stevie Ray Vaughn, blues and rock music was always playing. The first concert I attended was a 3 Doors Down concert, which was extremely cool as later on I was able to write with Chris.

PEV: Only 16 and already a huge success, how do you handle the music business at such at young age?

PD: I think having a great team of people helping me and believing in me allows me to handle the business well. Just being focused and driven helps me deal with everything.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process…  What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music? Is there a certain “method” or “science” to your writing?

PD: I really don’t have a certain method to my writing. I try to just let my thoughts flow and write when its natural. I like to sit down in a dim lighted room with my guitar and just let my ideas flow and normally I will end up with a melody and just go from there.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Patrick Droney performance?

PD: Fans can expect to see a real rock concert when they come see my show live. There is never a dull moment at our shows. It is a very energetic and alive atmosphere. I try to convey all the emotions through my songs live.

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance. How have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

PD: The first live performance I had was when I was 11 and it was a club in Atlantic City. I remember being really nervous and excited. The only thing that has changed now is that I am never nervous. Being on stage is so comfortable for me. I can forget everything else and just play music. I am always excited to play a show.

PEV: What can fans expect from your latest release, “The Other Side”?

PD: They can expect to have a CD that they never want to take out of their CD player. A rock record with something for everybody.

PEV: How is this album different from your past works? As well different?from other music out today?

PD: This album is filled with catchy rock songs with substance.

PEV: Tell us about winning the Robert Johnson Star Award in 2006 as one of the country’s most promising young musicians. This must have been quite an honor.

PD: It was a huge honor to win that award. Robert Johnson has such an amazing legacy and rock and roll really started with him. To be called one of the country’s most promising young musicians by The Robert Johnson foundation was an amazing honor and I am very blessed to carry that.

PEV: How would you describe your sound? In a thick and talented industry, how do you expect to stand out?

PD: I really believe in my music and feel that I have something to offer this industry. I believe that people will see that I am not just another generic rock musician, and I that I have longevity.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about you?

PD: Hmm, one thing you would be surprised to know about me aside from music is that I am 6 foot 3.

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts? Any favorite spots on the road?

PD: There is no greater feeling then being on the road traveling with your best friends playing music for different people every night. We’ve always had a great reaction in Lowell Massachusetts. I think the best part about being on the road is just knowing I’m getting my music heard and spreading it around. The worst part is not being able to be their with my family when they need me.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

PD: Favorite City in the US is Philadelphia and International would have to be Montreal.

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success? What is it like for you when you get to play a show in your hometown?

PD: I am very lucky to have all of my friends and family supporting me. When ever I play a show in my hometown it is always very special and fun to just be around the place I started from.

PEV: What can we find you doing in your spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

PD: You can find me traveling, seeing other bands play, and just hanging out with my friends.

PEV: Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for right now?

PD: Echojet they toured with us this summer and that they are awesome.

PEV: What’s been the craziest reaction from a fan you’ve ever had?

PD: The craziest reaction from a fan was this girl who just started to cry hysterically while watching my show. She was really into it, she started kissing my poster.

PEV: Ten years down the road, where do you think you will be?

PD: Touring the country supporting another album still spreading the music and having fun.

PEV: So, what is next for Patrick Droney?

PD: Hoping to have a great 2009, touring and promoting the album.

For more information on Patrick, check out: www.patrickdroney.com

Leave a Reply

