Today’s Feature – October 20-21: Crosby Loggins

October 21, 2008 at 2:38 am (Today's Feature)

Crosby Loggins – sounds like some amazing music hybrid, right? Well, that’s about half right. While Loggins is making some top notch tunes, he isn’t any sort of hybrid (that we know about, anyway). He is the son of mega-popular rocker Kenny Loggins, but don’t expect him to be come out blasting tunes out of Footloose orTop Gun – Crosby completely appreciates and enjoys the music his father made, but he’s got his own brand of sound now – a rock, folk Americana mix of both modern and past influences. He’s even released an acclaimed album called, “We All Go Home.”

While the record was made with his old band, the collection is still a fine example of some “genre-skipping” songs, containing Loggins favorites such as “Always Catching Up” and “March On, America.” Today, Crosby is taking some time to focus on his new record with his new band, The Light. While the sound and style will surely differ from “We All Go Home,” the new album will still carry that Loggins signature of “authenticity, combined with his innate sense of when to let the music be graceful and spare and when to propel it powerfully forward.” Whether it’s through his genes or not, Loggins knows exactly how to handle a melody.

He and the band are now pre-producing the next album for Jive Records, aiming for a spring time release. After that, expect a headlining tour with the Light – dates should start popping up shortly for sure. With all of the tools and people around him, Loggins is one of those guys you know is destined to be a part of big things, so quickly! Get into the XXQ’s for a whole lot more.

XXQs: Crosby Loggins

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Was there a certain point in your life when you realized the music was going to be career for you?

Crosby Loggins (CL): Sure. I can’t say “realized” as much as “assumed”, because I think I was seven at the time, but nonetheless I had an oddly deep connection with music from early on that still hasn’t gone away. It was probably easier for me to imagine myself as a singer when I was young than many people simply because I had a singing father to look up to, but I think that most folks who get serious about being artists reach a point where they don’t look back anymore.

PEV: I know you’ve answered this question a million times, but what was it like being raised by a musical father, that had so many great hits? Was music always, constantly around you?

CL: Was music constantly around me? Yes and no, but probably just the same music as anyone else. I mean, it was like 1991 right? So I was probably listening to Bonnie Raitt “I can’t make you love me” and whatever else was cool to people my parent’s age at the time. No I’m kidding:)

But honestly, when I was young i think my mom worked really hard to try to keep me and my brother’s lives as normal as possible. I can’t say I was fully aware of being different in any way until I got a bit older. But once I fell in love with music and the work that my father did, I certainly craved time on the road with him and have always enjoyed all the odd and unexpected experiences it has brought me.

PEV: Growing up in Santa Barbara, California, what kind of music were you listening to? Do you remember the first concert you ever attended?

CL: The earliest music I really recall falling in love with would have to be the “White Album”. And surely James Taylor. After that it was open season. Nirvana, Sound Garden, Pearl Jam, but also Coltrane, Miles and Bella Fleck & The Flecktones. I played for a while in a lot of Ska and Pop-Punk bands, but also played percussion in my high school jazz band. The first concert I recall going to that wasn’t my father’s was actually The Allman Brothers at the Arlington Theater in Santa Barbara. That was a freakin’ cool show. My ears rang for two days.

PEV: What was it like for you when you were first breaking into the music business? Before you were getting press, regular gigs and touring around the country? Was being a “Loggins” something that worked against you? Like people comparing you to your dad?

CL: Being the son or daughter of somebody famous will always be a double edged sword. People may often suspect you of nepotism, but others will give you a chance when they otherwise might have not. The one thing all “progeny acts” (as I affectionately refer to us) have in common is that we didn’t choose to be born to famous parents. That just happened. All we have is what we do with it from there.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Crosby Loggins show?

CL: I’m not sure. I haven’t played one in a little while. Writing and producing this record has taken all my time this summer, and what’s more I’m not playing with the same band anymore. But I do feel like all the essential elements that I loved before are still there. I guess my fans and I will find out what its like together.

PEV: How have your shows evolved from when you first started out?

CL: I feel like my music is getting more condensed, and hopefully more potent as a result. I used to try to write about everything in one song, now I’m trying to write about just one thing at a time. Musically too I’m simplifying things from where I thought I was headed after my last record, and I’m really growing as a result.

PEV: Any embarrassing or crazy live show stories?

CL: One time the power died and I had to sing they whole show a capella.

PEV: If you could collaborate with one artist out today, who would it be and why?

CL: Mark Knopfler because he is god.

PEV: As well, is there an up and coming artist right now that you think we should all be looking out for?

CL: I’m a friend and a big fan of Fiest. Also Brett Dennen’s new record is great.

PEV: Tell us, what can fans expect from your debut album “We All Go Home”? How is this different from other music you’ve worked with?

CL: “We All Go Home” was a really fun experiment with my last band – a number of the members of which I still work with regularly. There is a lot of genre-skipping and a brilliant young violinist, Paul Cartwright, strings the album together. The high points for me are “Always Catching Up” and “March On, America”. The latter has a wicked electric violin solo on the outro.

PEV: What was the underlining inspiration for this album? Did you find yourself going back to one feeling or emotion more than others?

CL: Looking back, the underlining theme for this record was more musical than thematic. I was having a really great time playing with this group, and I wanted to express the kinds of sounds we were making at the time. It transformed the material to a certain degree, and that was a great experience.

PEV: When you sit down to write music what kind of environment do you surround yourself in?

CL: I definitely prefer quiet and nature. I’m not really a “New York City” kind of writer. I’m more of a “Big Sur Mountains” guy.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Crosby Loggins?

CL: I’m a Mac addict and a space nerd. I’m absolutely enamored of everything astronautically, and I provide constant tech support for my entire family and most of my colleges.

PEV: How have your friends and family reacted to all your success?

CL: I’m successful?… Hooray! I’ve been waiting my whole life for this! Everyone’s been amazing.

PEV: When you are not touring and performing, what can we find you doing in your spare time?

CL: Sleeping. And cooking and eating as much as possible with my girlfriend. Hopefully I’m writing too:).

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Good parts? Bad parts?

CL: I have a love / hate relationship with the road in ways many performers do. The adventure and freedom aspects are things everyone craves, until you look over your shoulder and realize you don’t have a home anymore. That can be an absolutely horrible feeling. And if you’re lucky enough to actually have an amazing home like I do, missing it can be even worse. But its good work if you can get it. That’s the bottom line to me.

PEV: In your opinion, is there a certain city (US or International) that you find to be the best city for music?

CL: I think that’s impossible to say. It really depends what you’re looking for. If I had a transporter-beam I’d be in Nashville on Tuesday and San Francisco on Friday.

CL: On the other hand, my answer would be Sevilla, Spain.

PEV: Ten years from now, where do you see your career?

CL: On every XBOX video game credit sequence in the universe.

PEV: As well, where’s one place you haven’t played, you would like to? Why?

CL: The Santa Barbara County Bowl. I think its one of the greatest venues in the country, but I’m biased.

PEV: So, what’s next for Crosby Loggins?

CL: I’m currently pre-producing my next album for Jive Records with John Alagia (Dave Matthews, John Mayer) and hoping for a Spring release! Check out www.crosbyloggins.com and myspace.com/crosbyloggins for tour updates in the New Year…

1 Comment

  1. Marissa Pewes said,

    Crosby Loggins is the next John Mayer!

Leave a Reply

