Today’s Feature – October 8-9: Monte Montgomery

October 10, 2008 at 12:56 am (Today's Feature)

Many artists who fancy themselves top notch guitar players explain their talents by recognizing the instrument as an actual extension of their physical body, a tool in which their thoughts are fully realized via intense fingerplay and passion. While we’ve had some unbelievable guitar slingers on the site, none of them may be able to match up to today’s feature, Monte Montgomery.

The man that Guitar Player Magazine calls one of the “50 Greatest Guitar Players of All Time” has numerous accolades and awards to his credit… though truth be told, that’s not the reason behind his craft. Simply put, Montgomery puts just as much thought and effort behind his fantastic song writing, live shows and album production as he does his brilliant guitar shredding.  Just check out his latest self-titled release. But just because he doesn’t do it for the attention… doesn’t mean he doesn’t receive it. Hell, the guy has won the “Best Acoustic Guitar Player” honor seven years in a row at the Austin Music Awards.

It also doesn’t mean that he hasn’t earned a slew of awesome nicknames – just listen to these:

·  “The Evel Knievel of Guitar”

·   “Six Strings Attached To Dynamite”

·  “The Answer To The Fermi Paradox”

·  “The Acoustic Shred Master”

Just imagine being able to see him do all of this live; “his amazing fretwork, unique combination finger and pick style playing through trailblazing ‘chordal’ thoroughfares.” Well do more than imagine it, and get to a show – the live music does the album complete justice. Learn more about Monte below in the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Monte Montgomery

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us, how did you first jump into the music industry? Was music always an instant passion for you? Any hesitations?

Monte Montgomery (MM): My mother is a singer /guitar player in the folk/blues genre. Her name is Maggie Montgomery, I first started playing music with her when I was 12 years old, she taught me my first chords.

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

MM: Yes, when I was 12.

PEV:  Guitar Player Magazine called you one of the “50 Greatest Guitar Players of All Time”. Quite a nice honor. How does being considered so accomplished in your career make you feel? As well, who is your favorite guitar player?

MM: I don’t think about it much, I don’t play guitar to see how much critical attention I can get, it’s not a contest. But by the same token, it is a considerable honor of course. I don’t have 1 favorite guitar player. There are too many genres and styles to pick just one.

PEV: What kind of music were you listening to growing up?

MM: Mostly FM radio top 40 until I moved to Texas where my mother introduced me to a lot of singer/songwriters. Types of music that you didn’t hear on the radio.

PEV: What’s the first thought that comes to mind when you pick up a guitar?

MM: Whatever is on my mind at that particular time. It’s not necessarily a switch being thrown when I pick up a guitar, it’s more of just an innate extension of myself.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process… What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music? Is there a certain “method” or “science” to your writing?

MM: No science to it really. I just shut out the world and focus on my thoughts and emotions and I start playing guitar usually at first, then I find a melody that works around the guitar and off I go into wherever that leads me.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Monte Montgomery performance?

MM: Passion and soul with substance. Oh, yea, and a fair amount of guitar playing.

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance. How have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

MM: I always had an audience when I started out playing with my mom. Back then I was Maggie’s kid, now Maggie is Monte’s mom. (That’s her quote).

PEV: What can fans expect from your latest self-titled release, “Monte Montgomery”?

MM: A rockin’ fun ride with a few rest stops along the way to catch your breath. The songs come first on this CD. Oh yea, and a fair amount of guitar playing.

PEV: How is this album different from other albums out right now?

MM: Sonically, solid. A live show recorded in the studio. As dynamic a CD as you’ll hear anywhere. There is something for everyone on this one. But I think that my music has always had the ability to appeal to a wide demographic audience. That has always been one of my great satisfactions.

PEV: How would you describe your sound? In a thick and talented industry, how do you expect to stand out?

MM: First by using my real voice (no auto-tune), and by backing up the performances on this CD live, with 2 people on stage with me.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Monte Montgomery?

MM: That he hates kittens. Just kidding. But I do love video games.

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts? Any favorite spots on the road?

MM: The best part is being away from home for a while, the worst part is being away from home for a while. Favorite spots on the road include west coast, east coast, midwest, northeast, deep south, Europe and my Mama’s back porch.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

MM: That’s not a fair question. The best memories come from the best times that I’ve had in front of a crowd, and that is just about everywhere. Ok, Dallas.

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success?

MM: They don’t know yet, I haven’t told them.

PEV: What can we find you doing in your spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

MM: Hanging with my 4 year old son 24/7 (he is quite handsome), enjoying good and spicy Tex-Mex food, watching some tube and softening up my calloused fingertips.

PEV:  Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for right now?

MM: Am I up and coming? Do I count? Oh, well, then I don’t know.

PEV: What’s been the craziest reaction from a fan you’ve ever had?

MM: AAAAGGGGHHHH! Also, fans that tattoo themselves with the cover art from my “Story of Love” CD.

PEV: Ten years down the road, where do you feel your career will be?

MM: In a place that affords me the opportunities to continue doing the same thing, but with more money and vacation time. Touring, recording and hanging with my then 14-year-old son.

PEV: So, what is next for Monte Montgomery?

MM: To proofread my answers (I hope I passed) and to continue to do what I do, I’m not looking for any awards…

For more information on Monte Montgomery, check out: www.montemontgomery.com

3 Comments

  1. Frank said,

    The man that Guitar Player Magazine calls one of the “50 Greatest Guitar Players of All Time” has numerous accolades and awards to his credit… though truth be told, that’s not the reason behind his craft. Simply put, Montgomery puts just as much thought and effort behind his fantastic song writing, live shows and album production as he does his brilliant guitar shredding. Just check out his latest self-titled release. But just because he doesn’t do it for the attention…

  2. KaTman said,

    Monte Montgomery is the most underrated rock/pop musician of our time. The accolades are well founded and while he might not be searching for them, he deserves them. Thanks for an interview to give us a little insight into the man.

  3. Magnolia T. Blossom said,

    What a laid back dude Monte Montgomery is? It sounds like he knows who he is and still maintains a modicum of humility. What more could a mama wish for?
    Magnolia Thunder Blossom
    (Monte’s proud Mama)

Leave a Reply

