Today’s Feature – September 10-11: The Scott Harris Project

September 16, 2008 at 8:30 pm (Today's Feature)

The Scott Harris Project was created out of, and for, the same thing: having a good time. Harris himself says that even though he’s matured as an artist and a songwriter over the years, that “Luckily I still like to have a good time so my music will always give off a fun vibe.” From songs like “Live it Up” to “Same Dream,” Harris’ sound is infectious, a new breed of upbeat melodies just waiting to be discovered by the rest of the world.

The band has been doing their part to get the word out; after releasing the album “In Between a Memory and a Dream” they’ve hit the road with acts such as Lifehouse, Blues Traveler, Gin Blossoms, Sugar Ray, Ben Lee, Teddy Geiger, and Toots & the Maytals. Making giant leaps one town at a time, there’s no doubt The Scott Harris Project is a soon to be proud owner of a #1 most downloaded tune. Any of the songs off of “In Between a Memory and a Dream” could make it, all containing an “eclectic mix of rock, pop, and crafty lyrics.” Harris says of the album, “I think the lyrics and song are really easy to relate to. On a first listen you know what I am trying to say. You can sing back almost any song off the record the first time you hear it.” You can check him out live and see for yourself as the band hits a few college campuses before their fall tour. Look at the schedule, buy the record and jump into the XXQ’s for a whole lot more.

XXQs: The Scott Harris Project – Interview with Scott Harris

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Now calling New York home, what kind of music were you listening to growing up?

Scott Harris (SH): I hate give that generic ” I listen to everything” answer, but its really true. I heard a lot of jazz and Beatles growing. My first two favorite cds were Dave Matthews Band “Under The Table and Dreaming” and The Fugees “The Score”.

PEV: What’s your take on today’s mainstream music scene?

SH: I kind of like what’s going on. I like artist who are coming out with pop hits and then collaborating. Cross-over singles always make for an interesting sound.

PEV: At what point in your life did you decide that music was going to be more than just a hobby for you?

SH: I think when I was in college and I had an opportunity to make a demo in LA. I was out there for a month recording and meeting people who worked in music full time. I fit in pretty well and I knew it could be something I could take really seriously.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Scott Harris Project performance?

SH: Lots of energy and surprises.

PEV: Tell us what it was like for you when you first started out. Before you were regularly playing gigs.

SH: It was tough. I did a bunch of open mics where the sound was always terrible. My friends would always come out and support me even if it didn’t sound good so it made those tougher times easier.

PEV: How is your style changed over the years, since you first started out?

SH: My style is constantly evolving. I think I am becoming more mature as person and as a songwriter. Luckily I still like to have a good time so music will always give off a fun vibe.

PEV: What can fans expect from the new album, “In Between A Memory and A Dream”?

SH: Fans can expect energy and fun songs. There is a lot of up-tempo music on that CD.

PEV: How is “In Between A Memory and A Dream” different from other music out today?

SH: I think the lyrics and song are really easy to relate to. On a first listen you know what I am trying to say. You can sing back almost any song off the record the first time you hear it.

PEV: In all your travels, what has been the favorite city to play and why?

SH: I would have to say New Orleans. I loved everywhere I have been playing lately but that place is something else. People just want to party and that’s always the best crowd to play to.

PEV: Is there a certain “up and coming” band or artist right now you think we should all be looking out for?

SH: I think the secret is out but MGMT is definitely got that hip sound everyone will love.

PEV: How have all your friends and family back home reacted your success?

SH: Everyone loves to follow the story. It is such a roller coaster but friends and family are always supportive.

PEV: How is road life for you? Best and worst parts?

SH: Road life is like a roller coaster also. A lot of up and downs for sure. The best part is meeting all different types of people. Playing shows every night that people are really enjoying is great too. The worst part is being forced to eat at a lot of rest stops.

PEV: When you aren’t performing or traveling, what can we find you doing in your spare time?

SH: Writing mostly. When I am not writing I am usually with my friends and family just trying to have a good time. Trying to enjoy life.

PEV: What’s one thing fans would be surprised to hear about Scott Harris?

SH: I was the captain of my volleyball team in high school.

PEV: What is a normal day of a show for the band like? Any pre-show rituals?

SH: I usually ask a million questions and everyone will think I am nervous. I am not nervous it’s just how I get before a show. We get in a huddle and tell each other we love each other and play like it’s our last show.

PEV: In one word, describe The Scott Harris Project.

SH: Special.

PEV: If you could have your “dream collaboration” with any artist, who would it be and why (living or passed)?

SH: Probably Kanye West. It would be so nice to hear him flow on something I wrote. It would be fun to write to one of his beats too.

PEV: What has been the best part of your career so far?

SH: My last tour that was sponsored by Cover Girl. At this stage of the game playing every night to a different city is where we need to be to take our music to the next level.

PEV: What is next for Scott Harris and The Scott Harris Project?

SH: We are going to record some more music with some really cool people. We will be doing a bunch of college dates while we get some new tunes together and get ready to hit the road for a big tour in the fall.

For more information on The Scott Harris Project check out: www.scottharrisproject.com

Leave a Reply

