Today’s Feature – July 30-31: Wofltron

August 1, 2008 at 1:34 am (Today's Feature)

Sooo, you’re from the Pacific Northwest… and want to make music? Great! Here’s your guitar and torn t-shirt, be sure to grow your hair out at least shoulder length and wash it once every three weeks. Right? That’s the recipe, isn’t it? Well, typically � but it wasn’t the way to go for one Kenny Choi, front-man of Daphne Loves Derby and the man behind Wolftron, his latest solo project that reeks of absolute style.

It certainly isn’t grunge rock, but that doesn’t mean Choi is ignorant to the significant musical setting he grew up in. He recalls: “I remember the first time I heard Smells Like Teen Spirit… I thought my chest was going to explode with awe.” With his solo act Wolftron, Choi has released the LP “Flesh & Fears,” a collection with folk textures that still pays homage to the Seattle scene backdrop. Choi is modest about the record, stating “I just hope that someone can put this album on, and find a reason to enjoy their day a little more.”

These tunes however “tap into the newly discovered raw sound of Choi’s psyche,” songs that can be both complex and simple, at time mixing dozens of instruments over one another, and other times allowing one voice to stand out. Each song on “Flesh & Fears” is attacked in a similar fashion. Choi puts it best, “When you listen to classic and timeless songs, they are very simple and ‘standard.’ Something about them is so special. I jumped into this project with hopes that my songs would be like that too.”

You can catch Choi performing as part of Wolftron, Daphne Loves Derby, and maybe even as part of other projects down the line. Chances are you’ll see him live… with one band or another. Check out the immense musical selection he has to offer, and get into the XXQ’s to learn more.

XXQs: Wolftron – Kenny Choi

PensEyeView.com (PEV): An already successful songwriter, how did you first jump into the music industry?

KC: For my situation, it was more luck than anything. In high school, I started recording songs at home with a 10 dollar microphone from Radio Shack. The internet became such a tool for me in the beginning. All my band-mates and I were still in school and we had no way to promote our music outside of the hometown. We were so lucky to be able to share our music with anyone out there.

PEV: Hailing from the Pacific Northwest, what kind of music were you listening to growing up?

KC: I have always loved the music my parents had playing in the house. The Eagles, Simon and Garfunckle, America… It wasn’t until middle school when I became more proud and aware of Seattle’s music. I remember the first time I heard “Smells Like Teen Spirit”… I thought my chest was going to explode with awe. A lot of my favorite artists like Death Cab, Minus the Bear, and Gatsbys American Dream are from here. For me, it feels like Seattle bands have this really dreamy and gloomy backdrop to their music.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process… What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music?

KC: I create the most songs when I’m not trying to be creative. I could be driving, or laying in bed. Just as long as I’m not forcing myself.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Wolftron performance?

NC: I wish I could form a 20 person band to play some of the songs… but that’s not happening. If I ever play some shows, I think the set would be acoustic.

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance. How have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

KC: Train wreck. End of the world. My friends and I tried to cover some Green Day songs at our school’s talent show. It’s a bad sign if you can’t get some sympathy cheers from a crowd of parents. That was 8 years ago… so I better be doing something different by now. I really enjoy touring, and connecting with people through our live performance.

PEV: What can fans expect from your debut LP “Flesh & Fears”?

KC: The only reason I made this album was because I love music. It took countless sleepless nights to finish it; but that struggle meant nothing compared to the satisfaction in the end. I’m not really sure what one should expect from this album. Music is so subjective to each ear. I just hope that someone can put this album on, and find a reason to enjoy their day a little more.

PEV: How is this album different from others out right now?

KC: I tried to keep everything tasteful. The lyrics are very honest and straight forward but never irritatingly tacky. I kept the music very interesting, but also gave room for the song to breathe and progress. When you listen to classic and timeless songs, they are very simple and “standard.” Something about them is so special. I jumped into this project with hopes that my songs would be like that too.

PEV: How would you describe the sound of Wolftron? In a thick and talented industry, how do you expect to stand out?

KC: Wolftron is very ambient and dynamic. There are moments where 30 different instruments and parts overlap each other. There are also moments with one voice and one guitar. I tried to make songs that are musically larger-than-life, but still keep a clear message. If there was a forest where every plant represented a different band, I would want Wolftron to be a small patch of clovers. I want each listener to come and take a little piece of me to carry around. That way, I won’t waste my time thinking of ways to become the tallest tree in the forest.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Kenny Choi?

KC: After music, my favorite thing in the world is running… Actually a tie between Guinness and running.

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

KC: Not really. Even now, I am not positive that I will be doing this until my 30’s. I love music, but that doesn’t mean it has to be a career for me. For now, I feel very blessed for this amazing opportunity.

PEV: What one word best describes Wolftron?

KC: Seahawks

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts?

KC: Worst part is living out of a bag for most of the year and never having any privacy. Best part is seeing every interstate and dirt road; gaining invaluable life knowledge from random people and actually being able to live this life outside of a box.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

KC: I would have to say Osaka, Japan. After the show, we went on this unbelievable Ferris wheel, and then had unlimited sake bombs.

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success?

KC: Life is very normal back home. I think I would have lost my mind if it was any different. I still see my best friends everyday… still eat the best home-cooked Korean food every day. My friends and family are by far the biggest blessings in my life.

PEV: What can we find you doing in your spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

KC: Running and running and running. Cabin trips with my best friends are very crucial. Also happy hours. I love driving my truck around with music destroying my ears. My truck loves gas too much though.

PEV: Which artist would be your dream collaboration? Why?

KC: Norah Jones. I just want to give her a hug.

PEV: Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for?

KC: The Reign Of Kindo

PEV: Tell us the story behind the name of Wolftron?

KC: Confidential PEV: Ten years down the road, where will Wolftron be?

KC: On the moon! Duh.

PEV: So, what is next for Wolftron and Kenny Choi?

KC: After we finish the Daphne album, I want to make another Wolftron album… and then make another side project. Lets take over Best Buy.

For more information on Wolftron, check out www.myspace.com/wolftron

Leave a Reply

