Today’s Feature – July 8-9: Montana Tucker

July 9, 2008 at 10:09 pm (Today's Feature)

So I’ve heard the name Montana Tucker echoed across several different mediums – all words celebrating this emerging young artist as the next superstar – comparisons to Jennifer Lopez and Britney Spears flying around naturally off the tongue. So sure, I knew the basics of Montana Tucker, things like:

– She began modeling at the age of 8, quickly catching the attention of producers and directors and booking national commercials, music videos, and television shows.

– Tucker was once a backup dancer for artists such as Ashanti and Ashley Simpson.

– Her single, “Ain’t No Stressin” can be heard on the soundtrack for the hit movie “Step Up 2: The Streets.”

But there are a lot of things about Montana Tucker that I had no idea about… like:

– She was one of the featured artists at the 2007 Super Bowl’s VIP NFL party, and opened for Ciara, Omarion, Pit Bull, Fabolous and Lil Wayne.

– She performed along side Flo Rida and Rick Ross at Rick Ross’s red carpet event for the opening of his restaurant.

– She’s friggin’ 15 years old!

In all honesty, that blew my mind. The girl with poise, ability and drive of a professional 20-something just earned the right to be called a teenager. She’s mentioned not wanting to always play the “back-up” role, and she means it. She’s already made the leap to the forefront with her new single, “Turn It Up” (which happens to feature mega-act Flo Rida). It’s one of those tunes that can resonate across the age spectrum – a summer time beat that even Montana’s grandma moves to. Tucker herself describes her sound as “pop with a hip hop flair that just makes you want to get up and DANCE!”

If you’ve seen some of the videos online, you know Tucker brings it for every performance. Tons of energy, amazing dancing, unreal talent. Check her out. And swing by her MySpace page – it’s rare when you find an artist who personally answers fan mail and comments. Get into the XXQ’s to learn more.

XXQs: Montana Tucker

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us about how you first jumped into becoming a singer?

Montana Tucker (MT): I always loved to sing… yes I have to confess I have always been a “in the shower singer” (laughs) but honestly I always wanted to be a singer and started out as a dancer then back up danced for celebrities. Then I was messing around one time with one of the singers and they told me I had a really good voice and I should pursue a career as a singer. I continued to back up dance but then realized, “Hey, I want to be out there where the fans are screaming MY name and loving my music!”

PEV: Growing up, what kind of music where you listening to growing up?

MT: Always top 40 and then got into the hip hop/pop music when my mom opened up a hip hop/pop dance production company.

PEV: Tell us about your creative process… What kind of environment do you have to be in to write music?

MT: Best time for me seems to be when I wake up or of course when a “real life” experience happens and I feel the “urge” to express my feelings on paper.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Montana Tucker performance?

MT: A “high energy” yeah a REAL high energy performance and they will feel my music, my passion and my energy!!! People have always told me I have a way of really connecting with my audience when I perform. . .that is what I love!!!

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance. How have you changed since that first show to where you are now?

MT: Well my first performance I tried to not give as much input into the planning of it and allowed others to make all decisions but I learned that it is important for me to be involved in the planning of my concerts and express my personal preferences because it is Montana out there performing… no one else. That is who my fans came to see! How I perform on stage is the “real” me, it is not an artist “pretending” to be someone – it is the real Montana and I know my fans feel it too.

PEV: What can fans expect from your new single, “Turn It Up”?

MT: Like nothing they heard before! New style, upbeat and uplifting, it will definitely be heard in stadiums, high school games and I hope ummmm… even at professional sports games.

PEV: What was it like to work with Flo Rida, who is featured on the single?

MT: He is super talented. I love his voice. He is so nice and a lot of times rappers get a bad name but Flo-Rida is so polite and was really a lot of fun to work with.

PEV: How is this single different than any other song out right now?

MT: It is a song that I think ALL generations will love and just a “feel good” song for the old and young! My grandparents the other day were “jamming” to it and I said grandma and grandpa are you singing my song and my grandma said “Yes we just can’t get it out of our heads!” (laugh)

PEV: Often compared to Beyonce, how would YOU describe your sound?

MT: Pop with a hip hop flair that just makes you want to get up and DANCE!

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about you?

MT: I am very very sensitive and my feelings get hurt easily.

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be a career for you?

MT: Music has always been the love of my life but becoming a recording artist hit me when I became a back up dancer for “A list” artists.

PEV: What one word best describes Montana Tucker?

MT: Passionate

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Best and worst parts?

MT: Best is meeting all my fans and worst is missing my friends and grandparents.

PEV: In all your travels, which has been your favorite city to play (US or International)?

MT: New York, I love Central Park and oh got to love the shopping too! (laughs)

PEV: How have all your friends and family reacted to your success?

MT: My sister Shayna is 19 and she is like so supportive of my career and then my parents are the best cheerleaders anyone could ask for. Some friends have given me a hard time through my career and especially recently since I have been traveling so much but my “true” friends understand that this is where I need to be and they are happy for my success. It is times like these you find out who your “true” friends really are.

PEV: What can we find Montana Tucker doing in her spare time, aside from playing/writing music?

MT: I am on MySpace a lot on my spare time because I answer ALL my own fan messages and comments and I love watching funny videos on YouTube. I also take dance classes at Millennium with Shane Sparks, my choreographer.

PEV: Which artist would be your dream collaboration? Why?

MT: Chris Brown. First off he is closest to my age and our style of music is similar. Secondly, I performed for him at his Super 18 party so we’ve met before and he is really nice and talented… oh and did I forget to say good-looking.

PEV: Is there an up and coming band or artist you think we should all be looking out for?

MT: MONTANA TUCKER!

PEV: What is your take on today’s mainstream music scene?

MT: I think it is great that there is so much more opportunity for independent artists and new artists to break in.

PEV: Ten years down the road, where will Montana Tucker be?

MT: Still making #1 hits, major roles on the “big” screen and having a MONTANA line of clothing, perfume and jewelry.

PEV: So, what is next for Montana Tucker?

MT: The #1 summer hit – “Turn It Up”!

For more information on Montana Tucker, check out www.MontanaTucker.com

3 Comments

  1. Jenni said,

    i love montana’s music. she is a great story about her thank you! i am a huge fan of hers

  2. Tiepoceanonna said,

    Tahnks for posting

  3. Ahhaa said,

    She talks like she’s an A-lister, hardly anyone knows who she is.
    & in that song ‘Ain’t No Stressin’, she only sang like 5 words, which is great considering she can’t really sing anyway.
    And does anyone else think she kinda looks like a man?
    I mean she isnt ugly, but her face is like manly shaped.

Leave a Reply

