Today’s Feature – June 4-5: Caitlin Crosby

July 5, 2008 at 10:45 am (Today's Feature)

West coast singer-songwriter Caitlin Crosby receives the best kind of currency from sharing her warm, folk-rock sounds with a ready audience – she’ll tell you some of the happiest moments in her life come from “either when I finished a song I was proud of… or after playing someone a song, and seeing them deeply touched by it. That’s the greatest joy to me.”

Her fresh take on music is appreciated, featured as a songwriter for the worldwide LEVI’s ad campaign. But this sort of recognition isn’t necessary. Crosby doesn’t need attention, awards or honors in order to keep working on the things she loves. She’s her own motivator. This however doesn’t mean that some of the best in the business haven’t stepped up to help produce her debut album. Grammy award winning producers Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds, Ty Stevens and “Track and Field” are currently working with Caitlin to write and record the collection.

The album will no doubt reflect her “passion for writing songs about the world and human nature,” all “aiming to challenge and inspire her listeners” through a mix of soul, folk, rock and pop. If you can’t catch a live performance of such sound, you can catch Crosby at local Jr. High & High Schools, speaking on peer pressure and media/body image issues. Growing up in Hollywood, Caitlin talks about the “constant buzz about girls hating what they look like.” She encourages young people to “own” their flaws and to be confident in their uniqueness.” Pretty good, eh?

You can also catch Crosby on the big and small screen – she’s had recurring roles on TV Shows like That 70’s Show, Malcolm in The Middle, American Dreams and 7th Heaven. She’s also filming a lead role in the new Danny Devito movie, “No Place like Home.” Wherever you do see her, be sure to take note. You’ll be hearing a lot more. Dive into the XXQ’s to learn more.

XXQs: Caitlin Crosby

PensEyeView.com (PEV): How and when did you first get involved with playing and writing music?

Caitlin Crosby (CC): I used to play for my youth group in Junior High where ‘Lifehouse’ was the main church band. so I was constantly around and inspired by musicians.

PEV: Hailing from Hollywood, California, what kind of music were you listening to growing up?

CC: I love old school Sherly Crow, but growing up, I was a huge fan of Paula Abdul, Amy Grant, C&C Music Factory and, of course, I cant forget the Beaches or the Sister Act soundtracks. Totally had those babies memorized!

PEV: Tell us about going to Jr. High & Sr. High Schools speaking on peer pressure and media/body image issues. Why did you first decide to do this?

CC: I LOVE doing this. Growing up in Hollywood, I’ve always heard a constant buzz about girls hating what they look like. No one ever feels pretty or good enough because they are comparing themselves to these images in magazines, that in reality don’t even exist. So, I show the kids before and after images with air-brushing and encourage them to “own” their flaws. To be confident in their uniqueness.

PEV: At what point in your life did you decide that music was going to be more than just a hobby for you?

CC: When I realized that my happiest moments in life were either when I finished a song I was proud of or after playing someone a song, and seeing them get deeply touched by it. That’s the greatest joy to me. To be able to communicate and relate to people.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Caitlin Crosby performance?

CC: Some definite emotional subject matters. Everything from what’s going on in this crazy world/generation, to break up songs, to coming of age songs. But you can ALWAYS expect my dorky awkward interludes.

PEV: Tell us what it was like for you when you first started out. Before you were regularly playing gigs. CC: Always hustlin’. Still hustlin’.

PEV: How has your style changed over the years since you first started out?

CC: My style has always been all over the place. My dad has the coolest style ever, so he was buying my leather pants in 5th grade. I’ve done home made shirts, to sailer hats, to pretty girly dresses. Its always evolving and creative.

PEV: What can fans expect from the new album?

CC: My life story, struggles, nastalgia and opinions.

PEV: In all your travels, what has been the favorite city to play and why?

CC: New York. Only because it was an awful experience. But so funny and memorable. I ended up playing after a man (who might have been homeless) singing a song on the piano, in Opera, entitled, “I Want it Up the Butt.” He was singing it like an opera balled at the top of his lungs! It was amazing.

PEV: Is there a certain “up and coming” band or artist right now you think we should all be looking out for?

CC: Carney on Interscope. I’ve opened for them a ton. They are ridiculously talented boys.

PEV: Having many layers to your music and sound, emanating from soul to pop to rock, how would you describe your sound?

CC: Oi vey! Hmm. I haven’t been able to find a name that describes it well, but maybe “Folk Rock soul singer/songwriter-ish”!

PEV: Along with singing and song writing, you are a prominent actress and have re-occurred on many hit TV shows and are currently filming a lead role in a Danny Devito movie, ‘No Place Like Home’. Your recurring roles on TV shows include ‘That 70’s Show’, ‘Malcolm in The Middle’, ‘American Dreams’, ‘Strong Medicine’, ‘Living With Fran’, ‘7th Heaven’ and ‘That’s So Raven.’ Is acting always been a passion of yours? Do you see having a dual career or musician and actress for a long time?

CC: I’m open to keep doing both as long as possible. But my main passion is writing songs.

PEV: You are featured as a songwriter for the worldwide LEVI’s add campaign. Has the exposure helped get your message and songs out to a global audience?

CC: Um, maybe? Not really though.

PEV: When you aren’t performing or traveling, what can we find you doing in your spare time?

CC: Eating good food at good restaurants with good people is my favorite thing to do ever! Also, I have a philosophy night at my house every Thursday. Its like an old school Greek symposium. So rad and deep. Oh, and I love editing on iMovie.

PEV: What’s one thing fans would be surprised to hear about you?

CC: That I get really nervous before shows.

PEV: What is a normal day of a show for you like? Any pre-show rituals?

CC: I’m usually stressed. I do my vocal warm up in the car ride there and then I usually say a little prayer in the restroom stall. Checking my motives for why I’m playing the show in the first place.

PEV: In one word, describe Caitlin Crosby.

CC: Loving.

PEV: If you could have your “dream collaboration” with any artist, who would it be and why (living or passed)?

CC: Sheryl Crow. She’s a true rock star to me. Or Bonnie Rait!

PEV: What has been the best part of your career so far?

CC: Just hearing people’s reactions from a particular song that helped them get through something, made them think or really touched them. I know that doesn’t have anything to do with ‘career’ but a huge success or not, that’s always the best part for me.

PEV: What is next for Caitlin Crosby?

CC: In the process of recording my first album.

For more information on Caitlin Crosby, check out www.myspace.com/CaitlinCrosby

Leave a Reply

