Today’s Feature – May 1-2: Fernando Vallone

May 2, 2008 at 9:50 am (Today's Feature)

Fernando Vallone

Pretty girls can make men do just about anything – sometimes that works, and sometimes it doesn’t. In the case of Argentinean illustrator Fernando Vallone, it worked in more ways than one, “The girl that I was in love with saw a sketch that I made in my study book. She said to me that it was cool. From that day forward, I never stopped drawing.”

Seriously, he didn’t stop drawing. Vallone is full of interesting tidbits, one unfortunate one being that he suffered from insomnia as a child. To this day, he will stay up all night drawing, looking for inspiration. He took in more inspiration than he bargained for after he left his parents home at age 18 to learn how to live on the street with only a dollar a day. He recalls, “I wanted to show myself that I could do things my own way, so instead of trying to head to some university I decided to hit the road… I saw marginalization, poverty. People dying and suffering because they didn’t have anything to eat… it gave me enough rage to follow my dream of being an artist. I guess that you can see that rage in my art.”

That “rage” has turned into some amazing work for Vallone, who feels like touching the sky every time one of his pieces is published. His art often deals with his outspoken beliefs over the “political corruption and people’s ignorance” in Argentina, thus justifying some of the anger behind his drawings. Get inspired and check out some of his work. While he has yet to make his true mark on the states, his day will arrive soon. Get into the XXQ’s to learn more.

XXQs: Fernando Vallone

PensEyeView.com (PEV): Tell us about how you first got involved with creating art. Was it always a natural fit for you?

Fernando Vallone (FV): Well, the first thing I remember is my mother telling me that the sky is perfect to be painted. After that, I guess it was like any other person… I just started to read comics and then to draw some characters. Along the way I lost interest in drawing, then I started again when I was 15. The girl that I was in love with saw a skecth that I made in my study book. She said to me that it was cool. From that day, I came back to my house and and never stop to drawing.

PEV: Growing up in Argentina, what kind of artistic styles were surrounding you that may have influenced your work?

FV: The comics, well, here we call them “historietas”. They are pretty much like european comics. Black and white. Very experimental, of course there are many others things to get some inspiration, like punk rock, grunge and local music bands.

PEV: After finishing school you went off to travel your country, learning how is to live in the street and to have only one dollar per day for eat. Tell us about those days and what was it like to live that way for so long?

FV: All I can say it was difficult. I left my house when I was 18, not because my parents kicked me out, the reason was because I didn’t fit in the ideal of what to do when you end school. I was this grunge guy, and I wanted to show myself that I could do things on my way, so instead of trying to head to some university I decided to hit the road. I finished the travelling in the north place of Argentina. What I saw there was even more shocking that living in the street. I saw marginalization, poverty, people dying and suffering because they didn’t have anything to eat. I saw the worst aspect of the life, I saw this and I couldn’t make nothing for them. This teach me that I was in some things a “blind person”. It gave me the enough rage to follow my dream of being an artist. I guess that you can see that rage on my art.

PEV: In speaking with you, you are very outspoken about your belief in the “political corruption and people’s ignorance” in Argentina. For the people that cannot experience this first hand, describe what you mean?

FV: This is my point of view, politics in Argentina are always the same meanwhile the persons in charge still present. This could be changed, but they don’t do it. Due to that there is so much poverty, kids leaves schools everyday and they just do nothing to think about their future. So when they grow up they don’t know what their civil rights are, they just vote for the candidate that gives then more things… like dvds, tvs, and some economic plan. This creates a large percent of people voting for the same corrupts candidates.

PEV: What’s one thing that you love about Argentina, you can’t find anywhere else in the world?

FV: Friendship. You can stay in a park, sketching or playing some football, and someone will just simply say Hi! and start speaking with you or playing. And you will make friends. That happens a lot. Most of my friends, I meet them like that.

PEV: What would we find if we walked into your studio right now?

FV: Well, lots and I mean lots of boxes with sketches. A lot of comics for reading. 3 cats. Bottles of ink. I have a lot of art books. I am a big fan of illustration old school.

PEV: When you prepare to jump into a project/piece, what kind of “mind set” do you surround yourself in?

FV: At the present I just go to downtown and start making some sketches. Also, I see some related movies, or listen some music that is connected with the piece that I will start.

PEV: What is your take on today’s modern art scene? The good and the bad?

FV: Well, the thing is, what is art? It can be so much on this days I just love to see art grow up. and expand it to other places. The bad? I haven’t found a thing that makes me think this is my generation language. Not in modern art.

PEV: If you could sit down with any artist – living or deceased, who would it be and why?

FV: Al Parker. He was the greatest illustrator in the world. I would like to listen him all the day along. Just watch him working, that would be amazing. that man is a pure inspiration and all outstanding talent.

PEV: Who in on your iPod right now or in your CD player? What kind of music do you generally like to listen to?

FV: Mmm, I must admit right now I am re discovering the 90«s. So a lot of Nirvana, The New Radicals, Alice In Chains.

PEV: Is there an up and coming artist (any medium) that you think we should all be looking out for?

FV: There are a lot. I must say I love the photos of this young guy of England. Mike Rogers (kirol.deviantart.com) his photos make me feel represented. The kid knows how to use a camera. His grey, angry photos. In some years he will be a leader in the art scene.

PEV: How have your friends and family reacted to your career?

FV: It depends. But they usually are cool. My friends are awesome. They are always supporting me and telling me to continue trying.

PEV: Tell us about the first time you saw one of your works hanging on the walls of a show or published?

FV: That experience was unique. I still feel so happy when I see my art published. I don’t want a museum; I want my art to be produced in the magazines. I am a illustrator. I just live for drawing and getting better. Being published is like touching the sky with my hands. It makes me feel like Howard Hughes

PEV: What’s something we’d be surprised to hear about Fernando Vallone?

FV: I sleep 4 hours a day. When I was a kid I had insomnia. I could stay all night long awake. I still have that problem. When I was 20 I decided to use it for my art. So what I do? I keep myself drawing all the night long.

PEV: When you aren’t working, what can we find you doing in your spare time?

FV: Hanging out with some friends. Beer and singing, making art for free, stencil in the streets, reading, watching movies, dating… the usual.

PEV: What do you find to be the most challenging “problems” for you as an artist?

FV: Well I live in South America, so it’s difficult to find a rep in Europe or USA. They all worry about my language skills and the difference of time.

PEV: What advice can you offer to an artist who is debating whether or not to pursue a career in art?

FV: If you have to debate then don’t choose it. This is art. This is so difficult. This is like having work all the days, it’s even harder than being a person from 8 to 17. But if you know this is your thing. Then came in, and join. Art is a hell of a ride.

PEV: What one word, best describes your work?

FV: ILLUSTRATION

PEV: Where do you think your work will be in twenty years?

FV: Published in magazines. What else I could want to be?

PEV: So, what is next for Fernando Vallone?

FV: Seriously trying to find a rep, and well just waiting for that one chance and I need to show that I can do the work.

For more information on Fernando Vallone, check out www.behance.net/fernando

1 Comment

  1. killem all said,

    This boy is a lie!..
    NOTHING THAT APPEARS THERE HAS REALLY PAST

    MYTHOMANIA, that explains everything…

    Be careful with this guy!

Leave a Reply

