Today’s Feature, May 5-6, 2007: Quincy Coleman

January 18, 2008 at 6:15 pm (Today's Feature)

When Quincy Coleman arrived on the music scene, everyone let out a sigh of relief. She’s what we’ve been waiting for. Coleman is the kind of performer whose presence demands your attention and voice keeps you in awe. Not only does her voice hold comparison to Sarah McLaughlin, Edith Piaf, Jewel or Shelby Lynne (to name a few) but she looks like a star. In an era of “just add water” pop music, Coleman is like fine cuisine, with several layers of a secret recipe . She remains a mainstay on the music scene and her hit song, “Afraid” from “Also Known as Mary” is featured on the soundtrack for the academy award winning film “Crash.” Not a bad little start… Coleman will joke, saying her first start in music occurred while singing a very drunk and a very nervous version of Indigo Girls “Closer to Fine”, one night at “hole in the wall” bar in Nice, France. However, we like to think she was destined. Being a performer is in Quincy Coleman’s blood; her dad is actor and Golden Globe winner Dabney Coleman, mom is model/actress Jean Hale Coleman and her brother Randy is a talented musician his own right. Her 2006 release, “Come Closer”, is getting accolades from every area of the entertainment industry. Songs like Coleman’s style is a unique as her story is inspiring. Read her XXQs, to find out more…

XXQs: Quincy Coleman

PensEyeView.com (PEV): How and when did you first get interested in music?

Qunicy Coleman (QC): Been interested in music since I can remember. And then my music teachers growing up in grammar school as well as camp songs had strong influences on me.

PEV: Was there a certain time or event that you realized you can actually make a living playing music?

QC: Not quite there yet.

PEV: You come from a family of performers (dad actor and Golden Globe winner Dabney Coleman, mom model/actress Jean Hale Coleman and brother Randy who has toured with Def Leppard and opened for The Who at the Hollywood Bowl). Have they offered any professional advice?

QC: Yes! Yes! Yes! They have all been amazing in sharing their experiences and relating to the struggles and have all been huge inspirations to me.

PEV: What was it like the first time you stepped into a studio to record your self-released debut album “Also Known as Mary”? CD: I was pretty much beside myself with anticipation and excitement. It was a profound sense of focus and belief in myself and my music.

PEV: Besides radio play, the song “Afraid” from “Also Known as Mary” is on the soundtrack for the academy award winning film “Crash”. How was to know you were part of such an acclaimed project?

QC: Not only am I proud to be associated with such a successful film but more importantly the pride comes from having a very important song of mine attached to such a powerful film with its intense delivery of an extremely important message.

PEV: Having performed in LA for quite some time, what is your take on the current LA music scene?

QC: It is and has been since my involvement a strong supportive community. There is a sweet sense that everybody has each others back and that we are all on this crazy ride together.

PEV: You have traveled all over the world. Which city do you think offers the best environment for music?

QC: I can’t say as there are many cities with great musical history I have yet to visit or play in such as Chicago and New Orleans but out of the places I’ve been to I’d say Austin, Texas has that feeling of 24 hour toe tapping joints venues and bars. That city seems to just breathe in and out music!

PEV: Is there a certain atmosphere you surround yourself in when you write music?

QC: Not really. When the inspirations come they just come… I’ve literally been on the toilet!

PEV: What do all your friends and family think about your success?

QC: Friends and family have been nothing short of ecstatic. It’s as if my success is theirs and I guess there is some truth to that. I couldn’t do what I’ve done or get to where I am at without them.

PEV: If you could collaborate with one artist, alive or deceased, who would it be and why?

QC: Oh man, one?! Well I have to give you two. First would be without a doubt Ms. Billy Holiday. That woman’s voice does something to me. She takes to a place that feels like home but a home I’ve never been to. It’s weird. And then of course there’s Justin Timberlake. Probably sounds crazy but I think that guy is a super star with soul and spontaneity emanating off of his every pore.

PEV: The Philadelphia Hawk said you should […surely be listed among some of the great female singer-songwriters of our generation]. Not a bad compliment. How important is it for young girls to see such a positive woman making a difference in music?

QC: I never thought of that and not sure that is even the case but I sure hope that anyone who listens to my music or catches a show that they be inspired to be who they are, not follow the mold just to be safe, and know that whoever you are whatever you have to say however you want to say it, your voice is valid and deserves to be heard.

PEV: What kind of advice can you give to people who are just now starting a band or picking up a guitar?

QC: Honestly stay true to your heart and don’t even think of getting involved with this business unless you can take rejection and move through it. You have to really want it to get it and you might not even get it then. As far as making music on the side or as a hobby, I think the world would be a different place. It’s a great outlet, an awesome way to express yourself, and a sense of creating and being a part of something that is like no other.

PEV: What helps fuel your drive to create music?

QC: Love. Pain. Revenge. Seduction. And other artists like Loudon Wainwright, Ray LaMontagne, John Mayer…

PEV: How has life on the road been for you?

QC: It’s not easy when I’m alone but once I get on that stage and see the smiling faces looking back at me I remember why I’m here.

PEV: If I were to walk into your house right now, what is one thing I would be surprised to find?

QC: That it is disturbingly clean!

PEV: When you are not working, what do you like to do?

QC: I am avid yogi. Been doing it for over 10 years and really hooked on the bikram technique these days. I also love going to the beach! The ocean makes me laugh.

PEV: People can download your music from your website. What is your opinion on the heated debate over downloading music off line?

QC: At this stage of my career I feel if the music is getting out there that’s really what matters at this point. I think it’s great that people all over the world can have my music in their homes right now! It’s very cool.

PEV: What can someone expect from a live Quincy Coleman show?

QC: They can expect a very sweaty Quincy Coleman. It’s a serious work out for me. I can’t help but get into the songs and into my boys (the other band mates). I wrote these songs so that and my band and the audience could have fun and so far from what I can tell we are doing pretty good accomplishing that goal.

PEV: What is the best part about playing live?

QC: The immediate feedback from the audience. When you’re stuck in the studio it’s a cave and you can loose perspective and get kinda loopy. The live show is set up to be well just that, live! When ever body is on it’s an electric and magical experience!

PEV: So, what is next for Quincy Coleman?

QC: A record deal, a national tour with my band, a couple of Grammy’s, and taking part in what I can do to create more harmony on this crazy planet. To find out more about Quincy Coleman, check out these following sites: http://www.QuincyColeman.com and http://www.myspace.com/quincycoleman

Leave a Reply

