Today’s Feature May 21-22, 2007: Ryan Huston

January 18, 2008 at 6:23 pm (Today's Feature)

People often ask how I find the artists featured on PensEyeView.com.
Sometimes I find them, sometimes they find me…its really that simple.
However, when I came across Ryan Huston or “found” him, I rushed to
track him down. After only ten seconds of hearing his hit song, “Thank
You” which recently appeared on a compilation CD for Target, I knew we
had to have him as a feature. His MySpace page allows you to sample
four songs, having over half a million plays, is making the people
that don’t know who Ryan Huston is, wonder why it has taken them so
long to find out. Songs like “Tired”, “Run Away” and “Thank You”
(which spins regularly on Sirius Satellite Radio) are what makes Ryan
Huston one of the most popular and respected singer and songwriters
today. In a time of “look first-then listen” rock stars, Ryan grabs
your attention from the second his fingers hit the strings. Not to
mention his looks are what music producers search day and night to
find. He embodies everything you want a musician to be and that alone
has him being called the next John Mayer or Jack Johnson, to name a
couple. Ryan is was born into a musical family, has remained humble,
doesn’t dig the “nightlife” and has a caring girlfriend (sorry ladies)
which brings meaning to his music. Read his XXQs to find out more.

XXQs: Ryan Huston

PensEyeView.com (PEV): How and when did you first get interested in music?

Ryan Huston (RH): I was born into a musical family. Both of my parents
are vocalists so it was always around.

PEV: Was there a certain time or event that you realized you can
actually make a living playing music?

RH: Once my girlfriend Marie Matteucci and I teamed up and started
working together I really saw the possibilities. She was doing a lot
of marketing and promotion and the fan base really started growing
quickly. The response I was getting from my fans was amazing, they
really gave me the strength to pursue this to the fullest.

PEV: How does it feel at such a young age to be accomplishing what
most artists twice your age may never?

RH: It’s just amazing. It’s hard to believe everything that has
happened in the last year and a half since we really started pursuing
a career in music. I’m just very thankful for everything.

PEV: What do all your friends and family back home think about your success?

RH: My parents are amazing. It’s always fun telling my mom stuff
because she gets really, really excited. My best friend Ricky Corzo is
really proud of everything that has happened and of course having
Marie on my side is a blessing. I have a really good support system.

PEV: You have an Associates degree in music and are committed to
continuing your studies. How has it been managing your studies with
the demands of a music career? Also, how have your fellow students
reacted to your music?

RH: I graduated college so I’m not in school anymore however I keep in
contact with a couple classmates, one of which is actually playing
lead guitar for me, Corey Krick.

PEV: What was it like the first time you stepped into a studio to
record an album?

RH: I felt like I was at home. We recorded the new songs in L.A. at a
studio called Pulse Recordings. I just really felt like I was in my
element.

PEV: Your debut album, Right Songs For No One featured 16 songs all
written, performed and produced by you. That is quite a lot to take on
for a debut album.

RH: In January 2005 I locked myself in my room for a month a recorded
that album. I was going through a pretty big transformation in my life
at that time. A lot of things were changing for me, I was really ready
to move forward. I felt as though I was in a standstill for a long
time. I think Right Songs For No One reflects that.

PEV: What drives you to create music?

RH: It really just depends. I compose quite often, I’m really focused
on that right now. My fans give me a lot of inspiration. They send in
a lot of letters, a lot of people have really opened up to me. I get a
lot of messages from military men and women, their wives and mothers.
Their letters inspired my song, “When You Think Of Me.”

PEV: Is there a certain atmosphere you surround yourself in when you
write music?

RH: We have a pretty big house with vaulted ceilings. I go where the
acoustics sound good which is usually the dining room or the living
room.

PEV: When you are not working, what do you like to do?

RH: I like to be at home. Marie and I hardly ever go out to bars or
things like that. I do a lot of composing. I like to read. I play
Counter Strike. I also really enjoy being in nature, going camping.
Yosemite is probably one of my favorite places on the planet.

PEV: What can someone expect from a live Ryan Huston show?

RH: They can expect to have a good time. Afterwards I always have meet
and greets and I don’t leave until I’ve met everyone. I love
interacting with my fans.

PEV: What is the best part about playing live?

RH: It’s such an adrenaline rush. I love it when my fans sing along
with me, it’s such a great feeling.

PEV: If you could collaborate with one artist, alive or deceased, who
would it be and why?

RH: Probably Dave Grohl. He’s just been an incredible inspiration for
me. One night I was on my way home from the gym and I heard
“Everlong”, the acoustic version and it gave me chills. That was kind
of a turning point for me. It was then that I knew for certain that
this is what I wanted to do.

PEV: What kind of advice can you give to someone who wants to pursue a
music career?

RH: Be strong, it’s a tough road. Most importantly, be gracious to your fans.

PEV: Did you ever think that your song, “Thank You” would become such
a huge hit, so fast?

RH: You know, when I finished my album I passed it around to all of my
family and friends and asked them to pick out their top three songs
and Thank You was always in there. It’s a very sweet song, I think a
lot people can relate to it which is why it has received such a great
response. People love to have that connection with their music. I
certainly didn’t know when I was writing it that it would be such a
hit though.

PEV: How did it feel when TARGET asked to feature you on their
compilation CD, Acoustic Mood and being only 1 of 2 unsigned artists
on the track of 17?

RH: That was pretty incredible. I was honored.

PEV: If I were to walk into your house right now, what is one thing I
would be surprised to find?

RH: A clean house? I don’t know. When you walk into my house the first
thing you see a big screen TV.

PEV: So, what is next for Ryan Huston?

RH: We are going to start shopping to all of the major labels in May
2007. We’ll see what happens from there.

For more information on Ryan, check out: RyanHuston.com and
MySpace.com/RyanHuston

Leave a Reply

