Today’s Feature, August 25-26: Kim Kline

January 18, 2008 at 5:40 pm (Today's Feature)

Kim Kline, the blond haired, doe-eyed beauty with a commanding yet amiable voice is going to be the next big thing. The Texas native who leaped into the chaotic arms of the LA music scene is on deck with a tune that you’ll want to keep in your head. With a sound reminiscent to Pat Benatar and Tom Petty, Kim Kline is the next singer/songwriter that will make a major impact on the American music scene. I’m no psychic, but I do know how to listen – and people are talking.

The reviews are coming in from publications like Kludge Magazine, which has stated “Performing in front of a sold-out crowd Kline commanded the full attention of the audience from the first note until the very last.” The Music Connection has also noticed Kline’s talent and ability to bond with her audience, highlighting her as one of the ‘Hot 100’ in their 15th Annual ‘Hot 100 Unsigned Artists’ edition. While acclaim such as this is what most indie artists dream of, Kline has more reason to be excited – she has been nominated for the 2007 LA Music Awards ‘Female Vocalist of the Year,’ as well as for the ‘Music Video of the Year’ award for her hit, “Inside.” And considering some of the past LA Music Award winners include Hoobastank, 311, Korn, No Doubt, Everclear, and System of a Down, it isn’t hard to believe that Kim Kline is the latest heiress to rock stardom.

“Inside,” is currently taking over radio waves across the country. You may have noticed it featured in episodes of MTV’s ‘The Hills’ and E! Television’s ‘Paradise City’ as well. If you can come across a ticket to one of her shows in venues such as the renowned El Rey Theater, the Viper Room, The Roxy or The Troubadour, purchase quickly. Tickets tend to go fast when Ms. Kline is on the stage. Read on to hear her answers to the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Kim Kline

PensEyeView.com (PEV): How and when did you first get involved in music?

Kim Kline (KM): To be honest my mother. She influenced me as a child at around 5.

When I realized I had a voice I started singing in local pageants…from then on I was

addicted!

PEV: What was the music scene like for you growing up in Texas?

KK: I don’t think you can really call it a music scene in Graham…ha. I made my own

music scene by performing in front of the mirror with a hair brush. You have to start

somewhere.

PEV: Your style has been compared to everyone from Pat Benatar to Tom Petty. What

were some of your earlier inspirations that help to shape your sound?

KK: Again, my mom was a heavy influence for me with classic rock, like Led Zepplin,

Fleetwood Mac, etc. I also loved listening to Mariah Carey, Alicia Keys, The Police

and U2. There are way too many to name.

PEV: Tell us about the first ever live Kim Kline performance. What was going through

your head?

KK: It was at a restaurant in LA…very small stage and an acoustic show. I was nervous

and excited at the same time. There were probably all of 6 people there but, it didn’t

matter…I felt like I was playing for 10,000!

PEV: Your single “Inside” has become a huge hit right now. Do you remember

the first time you heard it on the radio? Where were you?

KK: I was at home on the phone with a big radio station in LA, doing an on-air interview.

I was so excited and stunned that it was really my song on the radio. I will never forget

that moment.

PEV: Do you feel that the success of “Inside” will help create a greater drive to

produce music of the parallel if not superior quality? Is there now more pressure put

on you?

KK: I certainly hope so. I don’t feel pressure at all…I am just doing what comes

naturally and is genuine. Music to me shouldn’t be contrived. It should be honest and

real.

PEV: Describe to us what it was like the first time you stepped into a studio to

record your own music?

KK: It was amazing! It was pretty surreal for me.

PEV: Is there someone you haven’t worked/collaborated with that you would like to?

KK: I would love to work with Dave Grohl from the Foo Fighters. He is so talented!

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you knew that music was going to be

a career for you?

KK: To be honest, I have wanted to do this since I was five. It was just making that dream

a reality.

PEV: Is there another band/artist/performer on the scene right now that you think is

“on the rise” and we should all be listening to?

KK: Yes, I do. I love Cage 9! They are fantastic and are friends of mine. Evan Rodaniche

the lead singer also produced Hush Lullaby on my album. Check them out!

PEV: What can people expect from a live Kim Kline show?

KK: High energy, a great time and rock n’ roll!

PEV: What is the best and worst part about playing live?

KK: The worst! Ha…nothing! I get to do what I love! The best part is connecting with

the audience and fans. I love how music brings everyone together! It is my favorite part

of what I do.

PEV: How has life on the road been? Any fun stories?

KK: For me, one of the best thing about being on the road is that every city has

convenient stores…which is a musician’s best friend and stays open 24 hrs. Ha! Funny

stories…tons…but I can’t give away everything just yet.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Kim Kline?

KK: That I am a total neat freak!

PEV: When you get to relax or have some down time, what can we find you doing?

KK: I love to just hang out with friends and go out to dinner. I also love to chill with

my dog Sadie and take her to the park to play.

PEV: How have your friends and family reacted to all your success?

KK: They are very happy and supportive. They have seen how hard I have worked to get here

and they are so proud. It is extremely rewarding for me.

PEV: What would you say so far, has been your most memorable moment as a performer?

KK: Walking off stage at the El Rey Theater and being told I was nominated for the “Best

Female Vocalist of LA” for the LA Music Awards. I was floored!

PEV: When you write music, what kind of environment do you surround yourself in?

KK: Funny thing is I never know when a song is gonna come to me. I am usually like Johnny

on the spot!

PEV: So, what is next for Kim Kline?

KK: Just to enjoy the journey every step of the way!

For more information on Kim Kline, check out

http://www.KimKlineMusic.com

Leave a Reply

