Today’s Feature, December January 2nd-3rd: Rose Rossi

January 3, 2008 at 3:03 am (Today's Feature)

rosefeat.jpg

Growing up, just about all of us dream of becoming superstars, huge celebrities adored by millions and making billions. LA native Rose Rossi certainly wasn’t any different… except perhaps for the fact that she grew up in the backdrop of Hollywood as well as lived with two career actors (her parents). They insisted Rose study the piano, an idea that Rossi looked at as complete and utter “torture.” So Rose used her head: To get out of piano lessons she swore she would love music more if only her parents got her a guitar. They did, and Rossi had met her new best friend.

Those piano lessons weren’t completely evil however – that’s how she met producer Cliff Brodsky, the man who now stands with Rose behind her new album, “Hello to You.” He has helped Rossi by “refining her ideas without diminishing the core integrity of her art.” The collection reflects different phases of Rossi’s life, ones even as far back as when she was 14 years of age – “They are the revelations of coming into my own, being okay with being angry, or clinging to my little girl tendencies. Growth meant coming to terms with the surprises that revealed themselves in my personality, and learning that it all is okay. As long as you stay truthful it’s all okay.” Either way, she calls each tune an appetizing piece of “ear candy.”

While you’ll be hearing a lot more from Rossi in the near future, you may even see her dashing across your screen as well; acting is in her blood and something that she’d “truly love to do.” You can take the initiative and see her live at a show, something she calls an “explosive experiment.” Get to it and read the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Rose Rossi

PEV: You grew up in a show business house – both of your parents are actors. How did that influence your path to becoming a musician?

Rose Rossi (RR): A creative outlet for expression was always encouraged. My parents valued creativity and the arts just as much as academic education. My mother is also a musician and was always singing around the house. I just started to sing along.

PEV: Growing up who were you listening to?

RR: I was an Elvis obsessed 8 year old. Then later I extended my obsession to the Beatles. I started taking Japanese lessons because I thought it would bring me closer to John Lennon and his family. I had my obsessions and delusions as a child. Some of them are hard to shake–I still want to believe Elvis is alive.

PEV: Tell us about your first live performance. What was going through your head?

RR: ‘This is it’, was going through my head. And I was pretty confident. I remember I was wearing one long white glove on my left hand as a fashion statement–I thought I was very cool. After the show people were coming up to me asking what happened to my arm. Everybody thought I had a broken arm…

PEV: How have you changed and matured over the years as a performer?

RR: My maturation as a performer is directly linked to the more mature songs I write. As an 11 year old, when I started writing, I was very free with my creativity–I wrote a song called “Reindeers Knocking on the Roof of Me” –that was my big hit in junior high–but it didn’t have the emotional grounding and life experiences that I write from now. Starting out I wrote about imaginary situations and now my real life, and emotions seem to be the cause for my writing. Both brought out honest performances, just one is a little more heart wrenching then the other.

PEV: Describe to us the first time you stepped into a recording studio.

RR: First time in a Recording Studio was a visit with my Mom when I was younger. Our family friend had a studio and I actually watched my Mom record a few tunes. She has a beautiful voice. I thought it was pretty cool but was overwhelmed by all the equipment. I’m not really a techy but I’m trying to learn more.

PEV: You briefly put your music career on hold when you enrolled at Sarah Lawrence College in New York City. How has the experience affected your music?

RR: I think life experiences are great fuel for any art. For me, going to Sarah Lawrence was priceless. The people I met, being so close to NYC. I mean, my childhood was very sheltered. I lived in my own perfect world. I’m grateful for that start but I was definitely looking to see the other side and get roughed up a bit. I still played music at Sarah Lawrence, I just explored other avenues as well.

PEV: Your debut album, “Hello to You” is due out next year. What can people expect?

RR: I’m really proud of Hello To You. It’s my first album and it includes songs that have been written several phases of my life. One song I’ve been singing since I was 14. Cliff Brodsky, my producer, brought the songs to life and we created a consistent sound and style to the project as a whole, though to me the songs are all quite different. Ear candy.

PEV: How is “Hello to You” different than any other music out today?

RR: It’s different because it’s me and I’m different from anyone out today!

PEV: You’ve been working with music producer Cliff Brodsky – how has this helped shape the album?

RR: It’s been the ‘Eliza Doolittle’ transformation. Cliff used to teach me piano like 10 years ago. He has always believed in me. I trust and respect him very much. He’s helped me refine my ideas without diminishing the core integrity of my art. He is so talented at what he does and it’s been such a journey to shape this album.

PEV: What is your take on the current scene of pop/rock music?

RR: There’s some bands that really stand out to me. I really appreciates artist as opposed to robots. Robots seem to make more money than artists but artists are fascinating, robots are part of the machine.

PEV: You’ve done some acting work as well – is that something you’d like to explore further in the future?

RR: Yes. I love to act. I’ve chosen right now to give 110% to music but down the road I’ll do the same for acting. It’s in my blood and something I truly love to do.

PEV: What do all your friends and family think about your success?

RR: Success is so relative. I’m thankful for the success I’ve had thus far but as far as I’m concerned I’m just getting started.

PEV: Is there one artist that you have not had a chance to collaborate with that you would like to?

RR: There are a lot. Carina Round and Jack White pop into mind as particularly amazing.

PEV: What is one thing we’d be surprised to hear about you?

RR: I’m 5’10” and have been since I was 12. Rose, the early bloomer.

PEV: When you have some downtime what can we find you doing?

RR: Throwing dinner parties, Bikram yoga, watching I Love Lucy, cleaning.

PEV: What can people expect from a live Rose Rossi show?

RR: A rockin band and the full effect. Performing is much edgier than recording.

PEV: What is the best part about playing live?

RR: It keeps the music alive. What the audience brings to a concert is unpredictable. The show is like an explosive experiment. Some shows are bigger explosions than others.

PEV: Is there an “up and coming” artist that you think we should all be paying attention to?

RR: I’m still up and coming…

PEV: In one word what best describes Rose Rossi?

RR: Rosie

PEV: So, what is next for Rose Rossi?

RR: Touring touring touring…and I can’t wait!

For more information on Rose Rossi, check out www.MySpace.com/RoseRossi

Leave a Reply

