Today’s Feature, December 31st-January 1st: Timmy Curran

January 1, 2008 at 7:01 pm (Today's Feature)

timmyfeat.jpg

Timmy Curran has spent most of his life doing some remarkable things. He’s one of those guys who seemingly has a knack for success in just about everything he does. Start out by checking out his accomplishments in the surfing world:

– At the age of 18, Timmy placed 10th on the Surfer Poll for people’s choice of “Most Favorite Surfer” in the world, the only person to place in the top 10 that wasn’t on the world tour at the time.

– In Timmy’s second year on the CT Tour, he was ranked 6th in the world.

– Timmy finished off the 2004 CT Tour Schedule with a 7th place finish at the Pipeline Masters.

– In 2002 he was the 3rd most exposed Surfer according to Transworld Surf.

Today, he’s making his musical mark among some of the best acoustic acts in the world. His aptly named debut album, “Word of Mouth” (which you can download for free) was released earlier this year and stands out as a relaxing, eye-opening mix of surf acoustic alternative. Half of the album was mixed at friend and producer Ian Nickus’s home; “the vocals were recorded in the bedroom, the drums in the garage and all of the instruments in the living room.”

The collection includes some impressive guest work from friends Chris Shiflett of the Foo Fighters, Josh Moreau of Hoobastank and Chauntelle DuPree of Eisley. Even more impressive is the fact that Curran has had the opportunity to open for the Foo Fighters on 11 shows on their Acoustic Tour, as well as shows with Angels and Airwaves, Switchfoot, Brett Dennen, Eisley, Donavon Frankenreiter, and Matt Costa.

If you get the chance, check out Curran’s annual event, “Grombie Cromie,” a surf event benefitting the future of the sport. Download the album and get into the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Timmy Curran

Pen’s Eye View: How and when did you first get involved in music?

TC: My Dad played guitar so we always had a few guitars around the house, and I rememberbeing about 13 when my Dad showed me a few chords. I was hooked ever since then, and for some reason ever since then I’ve been more interested in finding out new chords mostly on my own. It has always been a bit like a puzzle trying to piece together chords that go together.

PEV: What kind of music were you interested in growing up?

TC: I listened a lot to James Taylor and Neil Young growing up.

PEV: Was there a certain point in your life when you decided that music was going to be a career for you?

TC: I have thought about how cool itwould be if you were able to make a living from it, but haven’t thought of it yet as a career. Maybe that’s because when your doing it on your own it costs more to travel and play shows than what you make. I am just having fun for now and taking it as it comes.

PEV: You have become famous world wide for your surfing career: 10th on the Surfer Poll for people’s choice of “Most Favorite Surfer” in the world, In 2002 he was the 3rd most exposed Surfer according to Transworld Surf, to name a few accomplishments. When did you first getinvolved in surfing?

TC: I started surfing when I was about 6. It was the same as playing guitar, my Dad surfed so we where always at the beach, and he let my brothers and I start when ever we wanted. He pushed me into a few waves and I was hooked as soon as I stood up on my first wave.

PEV: Has your surfing lifestyle affecting your musical career?

TC: I think surfing has giving me a lot of time to play and write music on the road. There is so much down time when you are competing, especially when there is a 2 week waiting period to start the competition and the waves are flat for a week.

PEV: In your opinion, which is the best beach to surf and why?

TC: I really like Tavarua in Fiji. You travel to this tiny island in the Pacific and there are perfect waves that wrap around the island. I have had probably my 2 best surf trips there, and I highly recommend it for a surf trip.

PEV: As well, which city, international or US offers the best scene for music? And which has been your favorite to perform?

TC: There are so many great places to play, but I really enjoyed playing the Bluesfest in Bryon Bay, Australia. There are really good waves 2 minutes from the Festival and it is my favorite place in the world to spend time.

PEV: What can people expect from your debut album, “Word Of Mouth” which was released Sept 9, 2007?

TC: It being Free?

PEV: When you sat down to write “Word Of Mouth”, what kind of environment did you surround yourself in?

TC: All the songs were written over the last 2 years. A few of the songs were written in hotel rooms in Brazil, Japan, and Australia. If I am not traveling I usually write all my songs in the bathroom because there are really good acoustics in there.

PEV: What was it like the first time you performed LIVE? What was going through your head? When and where was it?

TC: It was at a coffee shop in Redondo beach, and I remember being really nervous. I was just hoping that I would remember all my lyrics and not mess up while I was playing. The first year of doing shows they were all acoustic so it is always a bit more nerve racking for me playing by myself.

PEV: What do all your friends and family think about your success?

TC: They have all been really supportive and excited about all the opportunities that have come so far.

PEV: Describe to us the feeling of walking into a recording studio for the first time?

TC: It was really quite mellow because I recorded Citsuca and half of Word Of Mouth at my friends house in the Hollywood Hills. My friend who I have known for a long time Ian Nickus produced them both, so it was really nice not to have any pressure recording. That is a huge reason why I was really excited that Ian wanted to produce the songs.

PEV: Is there an up and coming musician/band right now that you think we should all be watching?

TC: Lee Koch, he is from Ventura and has really cool songs and he has a lot of charisma when he plays shows.

PEV: Who would you like to collaborate with that you have not had a chance to yet?

TC: It would be fun to do a song with Donovon Frankenreiter.

PEV: You offered your album as a download FREE on your site, which you don’t see too often. What is your take on the heated debate over music sharing?

TC: I think if its for sale we should buy it and if its free we should share it.

PEV: What is one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Timmy Curran?

TC: I love cereal??

PEV: When you aren’t performing, what can we find you doing?

TC: Most likely surfing.

PEV: What one word best describes Timmy Curran?

TC: Saved.

PEV: So, what is next for Timmy Curran?

TC: Hawaii in Nov/Dev and we are doing some shows on the West Coast in Jan/Feb.

For more information on Timmy Curran, check out www.TimmyCurran.net/

Leave a Reply

