Today’s Feature – December 11-12: Lauren Hildebrandt

December 12, 2008 at 3:47 pm (Today's Feature)

hilldfeat-copy

It seems the nation’s pop audience is always looking for the next big fashion/song craze – from “The Thong Song” to “Air Force Ones,” style and melody seem to mix seamlessly on the US popular music charts. So what’s next? Our latest feature, Lauren Hildebrandt has quite the offering… and I guarantee it’s better than Sisqo’s hit. It’s called “Boyshorts,” a clever pop mix of body moving rhythm and lyrics that will jam into your head. I can’t speak for every man in America… but seriously, does it get much better than a female who knows how to wear the boyshort? No, it doesn’t.

Hildebrandt says the song is “unlike my dance music and its total pop.  Any girl can feel sexy dancing to it.  It’s playful and flirty.” This isn’t the blond beauty’s only talent; she can dance and act as well. In fact, in the past, she has toured Europe as part of the cast of the musical, Grease. And you may have heard some of her dance mixes as well – her hit “Burnin’ Out” peaked at #5 on the Billboard Hot Club charts in 2005.

Lauren Hildebrandt is the type of artist just ready to burst on every stage of American entertainment. So keep a close eye out for her – it may all break out next month when she releases her debut album, “Not Really a Waitress.” It promises to pack the kind of stuff “Boyshorts” is already bringing to the table. Learn much more below in the XXQ’s.

XXQs: Lauren Hildebrandt

PensEyeView.com (PEV): A triple threat of singer/dancer/actress you burst on the dance music scene in 2005 with, “Burnin Out”. It spent 13 weeks on the Billboard Hot Club charts, peaking at #5. What was it like when you first heard it on the radio? When you dreamed of a music career growing up, was this something you envisioned, right off the start?

Lauren Hildebrandt (LH): I think friends heard it on Sirius or XM radio before I did.  Even though my first single hit #5 on Billboard club chart, I would love to hear my songs on terrestrial radio.

PEV: Now calling Los Angeles home, what kind of music were you listening to growing up?

LH: I actually loved musicals and listened over and over to soundtracks like “Bye Bye Birdie and “Chicago”.  Then I was all over the board listening to everything from like Green Day to Britney to P Diddy (Puff Daddy back then).  And from my parents, I always loved Duke Ellington, Ella Fitzgerald and Linda Ronstadt… Pretty diverse.

PEV: Having performed on stage, all over the world, do you find there to be a difference in the crowd reaction from the
US fans to the oversea fans?

LH: I’ve only performed overseas in the cast of “Grease”, the musical.  Musical theatre performers are like rock stars in Europe, unlike here.  It was cool to have screaming fans after singing, “We Go Together”.

PEV: What was it like for you when you were first breaking into the music business? Before you were getting press, regular gigs and touring around the country?

LH: I feel that I’m still breaking into the music business and it’s overwhelming.  It’s a constant struggle and I get nervous every time I release a single.  You can be hot one minute and if the next single doesn’t connect, you can fall off the map.

PEV: What can fans expect from a live Lauren Hildebrandt show?

LH: Lots of dancing and high-energy.

PEV: How have your shows evolved from when you first started out?

LH: I am more comfortable being myself.  Every show I strive to put on a better show and connect more with the fans.  I can’t wait for the day when I can put on a huge production.

PEV: Any embarrassing or crazy live show stories? There has to be tons, I’m sure…

LH: I’m always nervous about forgetting lyrics.  Sometimes my mind will go blank and I’ll just sing something that doesn’t make sense, but I hope the audience doesn’t know!

PEV: If you could collaborate with one artist out today, who would it be and why?

LH: Madonna because she’s someone I look up to and I would love a long career like hers.  She’s the master at reinventing herself.

PEV: As well, is there an up and coming artist right now that you think we should all be looking out for?

LH: Other than me?  Ha, ha.  I really like Jupiter Rising.

PEV: Tell us, what can fans expect from your latest release, “Boy Shorts”? How is this different from other music you’ve worked with?

LH: It’s unlike my dance music and it’s total pop.  Any girl can feel sexy dancing to it.  It’s playful and flirty.  I’m getting ready to shoot the music video this weekend.
PEV: How is “Boy Shorts” different from other music out today?

LH: I don’t think I sound like any other artist and even the music doesn’t sound like anyone else’s.

PEV: From August 2006 through May 2007, you toured in the European production of the long-running, hit musical, Grease. Tell us about your time on stage – what were your days like? Is acting something you see yourself doing more of in the future?

LH: We were free to explore during the days, which was amazing since I got to see historic places in Europe.  The cast was so much fun.  Even though we did the show for nine months, we were excited the second the music started and the curtain rose.  I hope to continue acting and make it to  Broadway someday.  But right now my focus is my upcoming pop album.

PEV: When you sit down to write a song what kind of environment do you surround yourself in?

LH: For this album, we brainstormed in the studio listening to the music track over and over just bouncing ideas off each other.

PEV: What’s one thing we’d be surprised to hear about Lauren Hildebrandt?

LH: I’m doing my first mini triathlon on Thanksgiving Day (2008).

PEV: How have your friends and family reacted to all your success? What is it like for you when you get to go home?

LH: Everyone is supportive and happy that I’m pursing my dreams.  Nothing changes when I go home which is what I like about my family and friends.  It’s just the way I left it.

PEV: When you are not touring and performing, what can we find you doing in your spare time?

LH: Hiking Runyon Canyon in Hollywood, running on the boardwalk in Manhattan Beach, go out to dinner with my boyfriend and friends.

PEV: How is life on the road for you? Good parts? Bad parts? Any fun stories?

LH: I’m not touring right now since I’m recording my debut album.  But the good parts are meeting fans.  It’s the best feeling when someone comes up to me and says they love my music.  The downside of touring is not having my regular food.  I’m a creature of habit and look forward to having my low-carb Monster with my egg-white omelet with broccoli and sun-dried tomatoes!  I know that’s weird, but my day doesn’t feel right without that.

PEV:  In your opinion, is there a certain city (US or International) that you find to be the best city for music?

LH: Los Angeles or New York.  They are where most of the musicians, producers and engineers live.

PEV: As well, where’s one place (city and/or venue) you haven’t played, you would like to? Why?

LH: Madison Square Garden.  If I’m ever there, then I’ve really made it.

PEV: So, what’s next for Lauren Hildebrandt?

LH: Promoting my debut album, “Not Really a Waitress”, that drops in January.

For more information on Lauren, check out: www.laurenhildebrandt.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

